The Muir Medal


The Muir Medal is awarded to the player adjudged Best on Ground annually between the Queanbeyan Tigers and Ainslie Tricolours. It is played for once a year at alternate home grounds.


The Muir Medal was introduced in 2006 following the passing of Alan Muir. The Medal recognises the significant contribution of Alan to the Queanbeyan Tigers Club and his son Ian to the Ainslie Football Club.


They are recognised as the only father/son combination to have played 200 First Grade games, albeit for different clubs.

Alan provided over 60 years of service to the Tigers organisation as a player/official and passionate supporter. His legacy is now recognised by all players with his “Eat Em Alive” signature.


Alan was the Tigers 1st grade games record holder for 31 years with a total of 225 games.


He played in six 1st Grade Grand Finals including three Premiership teams and represented the ACT for over a decade mainly in his preferred centre half back position.


He held many positions as a club official in over 60 years of involvement including the following:• President, Secretary, Vice President, Publicity Officer, Member of Building, Tribunal Delegate.


Ian continues to provide the same service to the Ainslie Football Club as his late father did to the Tigers. Having played with Ainslie since he was 5 years of age and joining his father in the 200 club in 1997. Ian played in the six consecutive Premierships for Ainslie from 1992 to 1997.  Ian has held different board positions since 1999 before taking on the role of President from 2006 to 2016, and still a Director on the Board.


Ian's family also have heavy involvement with Ainslie. His wife Linda has taken on many roles with both the Senior and Junior  Club for over 10 years and their boys Billy, Harry and Tommy will hopefully carry the Muir name on not only at Ainslie Football Club but in Canberra Football in general for many years to come. It’s also a day that that Ian and his two sisters Susan and Alison can reflect with a smile on their face about the significant contribution their father made to the Tigers and Football in Canberra. 


The medal will be announced after the Round 7 game between Ainslie and Queanbeyan at Alan Ray Oval.


Past Muir Medal recipients:

2006    Stafford Cooper (Ainslie)
2007    Bill Neely (Ainslie)
2008    Danny Jaques (Queanbeyan), Andrew Lieschke (Queanbeyan)
2009    Jordan Longmore (Queanbeyan)
2010    Andrew Swan (Queanbeyan)
2011    John Holmes  (Ainslie)
2012    Will Griggs (Queanbeyan)
2013    Simon Horner (Ainslie)
2014    Ash Harris (Ainslie)
2015    Brett Fruend (Queanbeyan), Lucas O’Neill (Ainslie)

2016    Andrew Swan (Queanbeyan)





























© 2015 by Ainslie Football