2010 AFL Canberra Premiership Team

AFL Canberra 2010 Competition had 6 teams, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Queanbeyan, Sydney Swans Reserves and Tuggeranong.


Ainslie finished second after the home and away games behind the Sydney Swans Reserves. The two teams played in the Major Semi-Final at Manuka Oval in very heavy conditions and Ainslie were able to upset the Swans to win by 40 points and proceed through to the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 9.1165 def Sydney Swans Reserves 3.7-25

Goal kickers for Ainslie: B Hughes 3, A Harris 2, E Stone 2, J Holmes 1, M Lawless 1

Best B Hughes, R Andrews, R Shirley, D Argall, M Crook, J Holmes


Ainslie played Eastlake in the Grand Final after the Demon’s win over Sydney in the Preliminary Final.

After a slow start Ainslie kicked away in the second quarter and ran out winners by 25 points to win their 23rd Premiership Flag.

Final score: Ainslie 13.10-88 def Eastlake 9.9-63

Goal Kickers for Ainslie: N Paine 5, B Hughes 2, E Stone 2, D Argall 1, T Inkster 1, C Mathis 1, M Ghobrial 1

Best: N Paine, M Lawless, R Tutt, R Shirley, E Stone, J Holmes


Robert Shirley was awarded the Alex Jesaulenko Medal as Best on the Ground.


Nick Paine led the Club’s goal kicking with 54 followed by Ben Hughes with 33.


Rowan Andrews, Marcus Crook, Matt Hearn, David Love, Nick Paine and Robert Shirley were selected in the AFL Canberra Team of the Year.


Marcus Cook, Michael Ghobrial, Matt Hearn, Ben Hughes and Eric Stone were selected in the ACT Representative Team for the Australian Country Football Championships. Marcus Crook, Matt Hearn and Ben Hughes were selected in the All Australian Team at the Championships. Marcus Crook won the J J Lussick Medal for the Best Player of the Carnival.


Coach: Chris Rourke
Captain: John Holmes



2010 Ainslie Senior Squad

Ainslie Second Grade finished the home and away in fourth position.


They defeated Eastlake in the First Semi Final.

Final score: Ainslie 9.10-64 def Eastlake 5.6-36

Goal kickers for Ainslie: B Perry 3, C Baxter 2, M Ablett 1, P Neiberding 1, A Olson 1, J Sullivan 1

Best: J Richardson, B Perry, D Tow, P Neiberding, L Highfield, J Hirst


Ainslie played Belconnen in the Preliminary Final but were defeated by 2 points to finish third.
Final score: Ainslie 11.8-74 def by Belconnen 11.10-76

Goal kickers for Ainslie: M Ablett 3, A Grozinger 3, J Cuzner 1, M Jillard 1, A McJannett 1, B Perry 1

Best: M Johnston, M Renet, A Olson, J Richardson, J Sullivan, D Alsford


Alex Grozinger topped the Club’s goal kicking in Second Grade with 45 goals.

2010 Ainslie Under 18s

The Under 18 team played Marist in the Second Semi-Final but were defeated by 30 points.

Final score: Ainslie 7.2-44 def by Marist 11.8-74

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Z Greig 3, J Whatman 2, B Ford 1, B Scholes 1

Best: S Martyn, B Ford, J Bradfield, B Scholes, T Carracher, L Carter


In the Preliminary Final Belconnen defeated Ainslie leaving them in third position.

Final score: 8.11-59 def by Belconnen 13.11-89

Goal kickers for Ainslie: S Martyn 4, Z Greig 2, R Haupt 1, J Whatman 1

Best: S Martyn, L O’Neill, R Haupt, J Whatman, B Scholes, B Sainsbury


Coach: Malcolm Scholes

Ass. Coaches: Brian James, Brendan Collis

Manager: Salvo Delorenzo



2010 Ainslie Division 3

The Ainslie Division 3 team finished the season in 8th place with 3 wins and 14 losses.


Coach: Trevor Treloar

2010 Ainslie Women's Team

The Ainslie Womens team finished the home and away games in first position ahead of Tuggeranong with 11 wins and 2 losses.


Holly Cogle, Karina Demant, Hannah Gill, Luisa Marzotto and Tamara Walker were selected in the AFL Canberra Women’s Team of the Year.  Holly Cogle, Karina Demant, Sam Engel, Hannah Gill, Melissa Hurley, Luisa Marzotto, Kendelle Treloar, Meredith Wells and Felicity Williams were selected to play for the ACT Representative team.



Coach: Matthew Porter

Manager: Mel Kershaw

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Michael Lawless

Runner up B&F: Marcus Crook, John Holmes (tie)

Coach’s Award: Robert Tuohey

Rising Star: Matthew Hearn

Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Rowan Andrews


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Andrew Olson

Runner up B&F: Alex Grozinger

Best Clubman: Andrew McJannett

Coach’s Award: Paul Neiberding


Under 18

Best & Fairest: Brent Ford

Runner up B&F: Lucas O’Neill

Best Club Person: Peter Schroder

Most Promising Player: Jeremy Hirst

Coach’s Award: Jake King

Bev Trebilcock Award: Brady Scholes



Best & Fairest: Tobias Treloar

Runner up B&F: Stephen Lound

Best Clubman: David McGill

Coach’s Award: Reyer Groenveld, Joel Paine



Best & Fairest: Melissa Hurley

Runner up B&F: Luisa Marzotto

Most Improved: Carlie Slater

Coach’s Award: Meredith Wells

Player’s Player: Hannah Gill

Best Player in Finals: Candice Freeman


Most Prominent Club Person: Bill Wright

Jaws Trophy: Salvo Delorenzo

Office Bearers


President: Ian Muir

Senior Vice President: Trevor Lond

Vice President: Salvo Delorenzo

Secretary: Matthew Conway

Treasurer: John O’Loughlin

Committee: Ian Muir, Trevor Lond, Matthew Conway, John O’Loughlin, Salvo Delorenzo, Brett Hannam, Ian Haupt, Gavin Pound, Mark Sinclair, Joe Mann

Manager Football Operations: John Smith


Patron: Alan Ray


© 2015 by Ainslie Football