2009 Ainslie Senior Squad

Ainslie finished in third place after the home and away games.


Ainslie defeated Queanbeyan in the First Semi-Final by 19 points.

Final score: Ainslie 13.13-91 def Queanbeyan 11.6-72

Goal kickers for Ainslie: J Tutt 4, M Crook 2, T Inkster 2, T Daniel 1, J Holmes 1, B Hughes 1, R Lewis 1, A Mathis 1

Best: D Love, E Stone, R Lewis, J Tuitt, J Holmes, S Foster


Ainslie defeated Eastlake in the Preliminary Final to advance to the Grand Final. This was the first Grand Final for Ainslie since 1997.

Final score: Ainslie 10.6-66 def Eastlake 4.7-31

Goal kickers for Ainslie: T Inkster 4, D Argall 1, M Ghobrial 1, A Harris 1, B Hughes 1, C Pettersson 1, J Tutt 1

Best: T Inkster, D Love, D Tow, R Lewis, I Lawless, J Holmes


In a very tense Grand Final at Manuka Oval against Belconnen the scores were tied with 2 minutes to go. A late goal to Belconnen gave them a win by 6 points.

Final score: Ainslie 10.13-73 def by Belconnen 11.13-79

Goal kickers for Ainslie: J Tutt 3, A Mathis 2, M Crook 1, B Hughes 1, T Inkster 1, R Lewis 1, C Pettersson 1

Best: B Hughes, J Pratt, J Tutt, E Stone, M Crook, J Holmes


Tim Inkster was the leading goal kicker for the Club with 66 goals.


Three Ainslie players, Michael Ghobrial, Connor Pettersson and Jason Tutt played representative football for the ACT.


Marcus Crook and Tim Inkster were selected in the AFL Canberra Team of the Year.


Coach: Chris Rourke

Ass. Coach: Con Moraitis
Manager: Gary Paine

2009 Ainslie Grand Final Team

Second Grade


Ainslie Second Grade finished in fourth place after the home and away.


In the First Semi-Final Ainslie were defeated by Eastlake to finish in fourth place.

Final score: Ainslie 7.6-48 def by Eastlake 13.8-86

Goal kickers for Ainslie: M Jillard 2, P Neiberding 1, M Lawless 1, M Renet 1, C Mathis 1, M Creese 1

Best: S Campbell, B Rebecca, M Lawless, M Jillard, J Sullivan, C Mathis


The Ainslie Second Grade Semi-Final team was:

Marc Ablett, Drew Alsford, Shaun Campbell, Matthew Creese, Stephen Gill, Stewart Gray, Mark Jillard, Michael Lawless, Alvaro Macias, Clint Mathis, Andrew McJannett, Mitch Mulroney, Paul Neiberding, Andrew Olson, Brent Rebecca, Matt Renet, Greg Robertson, Brett Sheehan, Daniel Simpson, James Sullivan, Lincoln Sivilicic.


Coach: Tony Bourke

2009 Ainslie Under 18 Team

Ainslie Under 18s finished the home and away in third place.


Ainslie defeated Queanbeyan in the First Semi-Final by 45 points.

Final score: Ainslie 15.6-96 def Queanbeyan 7.9-51

Goal kickers for Ainslie: C Baxter 4, L O’Neill 3, B Matthews 2, A Birch 2, A Grozinger 1, L Highfield 1, B Sainsbury 1, B Garrard 1

Best: B Sainsbury, J Creaser, C Baxter A Bunday, L Highfield, P Schroder


In the Preliminary Final Ainslie were defeated by Belconnen to finish in third place.

Final score: Ainslie 6.5-41 def by Belconnen 14.7-91

Goal kickers for Ainslie: P Schroder 2, B Matthews 1, A Birch 1, C Baxter 1, L O’Neill 1

Best: J Creaser, L O’Neill, P Schroder, D Roberton, J Bradfield, J Hirst


The Ainslie Under 18 team for the Preliminary Final was:

Corey Baxter, Alex Birch, Jordan Bradfield, Alex Bunday, Josh Creaser, Rodney Dart, Ancel Franklin, Ben Garrard, Zac Greig, Alex Grozonger, Reuben Haupt, Lachie Highfield, Jeremy Hirst, Jon Hunter, Tom Jacobson, Brendan Matthews, Jake Millynn, Lucas O’Neill, Dane Roberton, Julian Rouch, Brendan Sainsbury, Brady Scholes, Peter Schroder, Peter White.


Coach: Malcolm Scholes

Ass. Coach: Brian James, Corey Saitta

Manager: Garry Grozinger

2009 Ainslie 3rd Division Team

Ainslie Third Grade finished ninth out of ten teams with 2 wins and 16 losses.


Coach: Trevor Treloar

2009 Ainslie Women's Team

The Ainslie Women’s team finished the home and away games in second position with 12 wins and 2 losses.


The Grand Final against Tuggeranong was played in wet, muddy conditions with the score being the lowest of the year. With each side level on 2 goals, 2 behinds with a minute to go Tuggeranong were able to kick appoint to win the Premiership.

Final score: Ainslie 2.2-14 def by Tuggeranong 2.3-15


Kendelle Treloar played her 150th game in the Women’s League.


Five Ainslie players represented the ACT in 2009. They were Holly Cogle, Karina Demant, Samantha Engel, Alex Hargreaves and Melissa Hurley.


Holly Cogle, Karina Demant, Samantha Engel and Candice Freeman were selected in the AFL Canberra Women’s Team of the Year.


Coach: Toby Treloar

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Tim Inkster

Runner up B&F: Marcus Crook

Third B&F: Ben Hughes

Coach’s Award: David Tow

Rising Star: Jason Tutt

Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Ian Lawless


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Brent Rebecca

Runner up B&F: Nathan Robertson

Best Clubman: James Sullivan

Coach’s Award: Drew Alsford


Under 18

Best & Fairest: Jeremy Hirst

Runner up B&F: Corey Baxter

Best Club Person: Josh Creaser

Most Promising Player: Lucas O’Neill

Coach’s Award: Peter Schroder

Bev Trebilcock Award: Lachie Highfield



Best & Fairest: Chris Jordan

Runner up B&F: Dave Stewart

Best Clubman: Leigh Miller

Coach’s Award: Peter Dowling



Best & Fairest: Hannah Gill

Runner up B&F: Candice Freeman

Most Improved: Melissa Hurley

Coach’s Award: Meredith Wells

Player’s Player: Luisa Marzotto


Most Prominent Club Person: Peter Mulroney

Jaws Trophy: Bruce Robertson

Office Bearers


President: Ian Muir

Senior Vice President: Trevor Lond

Vice President: Wayne Rogers

Secretary: Matthew Conway

Treasurer: John O’Loughlin

Committee: Ian Muir, Trevor Lond, Wayne Rogers, Matthew Conway, John O’Loughlin, Salvo Delorenzo, Brett Hannam, Ian Haupt, Gavin Pound, Mark Sinclair

Manager Football Operations: Corey Saitta


Patron: Alan Ray


© 2015 by Ainslie Football