2008 Ainslie Senior Squad

There were six teams in the First Grade competition in 2008, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Queanbeyan, Sydney Swans and Tuggeranong.


Ainslie finished the home and away games in third place with 10 wins and 8 losses.


In the First Semi-Final at Manuka Oval in boggy conditions Ainslie were defeated by Eastlake to finish in fourth place.

Final score: Ainslie 8.7-55 def by Eastlake 9.15-69

Goal kickers for Ainslie: C Pettersson 3, B Hughes 2, M Crook 1, A Bourke 1, R Lewis 1

Best: D Argall, M Crook, W Neely, R Tuohey, A Harris, E Stone


Sydney Swans went on the win their fourth consecutive Premiership defeating Belconnen 11.4-70 to 9.15-69.


Ben Hughes was the leading goalkicker for the Club with 44 goals.



Second Grade


Ainslie finished the home and away games in fourth place with 3 wins and 10 losses. There were only five teams in the Second Grade competition, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake Queanbeyan and Tuggeranong.


In the First Semi-Final Ainslie were defeated by Queanbeyan to finish in fourth place.

Final score: Ainslie 2.3-15 def by Queanbeyan 8.13-61

2008 Ainslie Under 18 Team

The Ainslie Under 18s finished on top of the ladder after the home and away games with 13 wins and 5 losses.


In the Second Semi-Final Ainslie were defeated by Marist.

Final score: Ainslie 9.11-65 def by Marist 11.9-75


In the Preliminary Final Ainslie defeated Belconnen to set up a re-match with Marist in the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 14.8-92 def Belconnen 5.6-36

Goal kickers for Ainslie: A Grozinger 4, C Baxter 4, A Franklin 2, J Tutt 1, J Griffin 1, B Sainsbury 1, S Boden 1

Best: J Griffin, A Grozinger, B Spencer, J James, C Baxter, J Flanagan


The Grand Final between Ainslie and Marist was a close game. Ainslie set up a good lead at half time but Marist hit the front after a strong third quarter. Ainslie couldn’t close the gap in the final quarter and went down by 2 points.

Final score: Ainslie 6.10-46 def by Marist 7.6-48


Coach: Malcolm Scholes

Manager: Gary Grozinger



The Ainslie Thirds team in Division 3 did not win a game for the season and finished on bottom of the ladder.


Coach: Trevor Treloar

2008 Ainslie Women's Team

The Ainslie Women’s team played in an eight team competition and finished the home and away in second place.


In the Second Semi-Final Ainslie defeated Eastlake to go straight through to the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 3.6-24 def Eastlake 2.7-19


Ainslie played Eastlake again in the Grand Final but were defeated by 25 points.

Final score: Ainslie 2.4-16 def by Eastlake 6.5-41

Goal kickers for Ainslie: D Glatz 1, B Connors 1

Best: K Winfield, L Marzotto, J Lucas, M Hurley, D Glatz, H Cogle


Coach: Justin Fromm


Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Billy Neely

Runner up B&F: Tom Daniel, Ryan Lewis

Coach’s Award: Michael Lawless

Rising Star: Connor Pettersson

Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Ash Harris


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Daine Harrison

Runner up B&F: David Nolen

Best Clubman: Glen Erickson

Coach’s Award: Nathan Robertson


Under 18

Best & Fairest: Jesse Griffin

Runner up B&F: Jeremy Hirst

Best Club Person: Matthew Vickers

Most Promising Player: Jason Tutt

Coach’s Award: Roger Dauth

Bev Trebilcock Award: Shaun Campbell



Best & Fairest: Dave Stewart

Runner up B&F: Drew Alsford

Best Clubman: Cameron Whitnell

Coach’s Award: Robert Ho



Best & Fairest: Hannah Gill

Runner up B&F: Laura Kitscha

Most Improved: Jess Lucas

Coach’s Award: Dani Nugent

Player’s Player: Hannah Gill


Most Prominent Club Person: Bob Barb

Jaws Trophy: Nicole Bourke

Club Officials


President: Ian Muir

Senior Vice President: Trevor Lond

Vice President: Wayne Rogers

Secretary: Matthew Conway

Treasurer: John O’Loughlin

Committee: Ian Muir, Trevor Lond, Wayne Rogers, John O’Loughlin, Matthew Conway, Salvo Delorenzo, Brett Hannam, Ian Haupt, Gavin Pound, Mark Sinclair

Manager Football Operations: Corey Saitta


Patron: Alan Ray


© 2015 by Ainslie Football