2007 Ainslie Senior Squad

There were seven teams in the First Grade competition, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Queanbeyan, Sydney Swans, Tuggeranong and the Wildcats.


Chris Rourke was appointed senior Coach. Chris had many years coaching experience through country Victoria and also in the AFL Sydney League.


Ainslie finished the home and away games in sixth place with 5 wins and13 losses. It was a difficult season for Ainslie with low player numbers and the loss of so many experienced players over 2005 and 2006.


Two Ainslie players were selected in the ACT Representative team, Billy Neely and Nick Paine. Billy Neely and Nick Paine were also selected in the AFL Canberra Team of the Year. Nick Paine was the Club’s leading goalkicker with 26 goals.


Ash Harris won the AFL Canberra Rising Star Award.


Nathan Greatz played his 100th First Grade game for Ainslie.


Coach: Chris Rourke

Assistant Coaches: Tim Chandler, Anthony Bourke

Captain: Billy Neely

Manager: Gary Paine

Second Grade


There were six teams in the Second Grade competition, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Magpies, Queanbeyan and Tuggeranong. Ainslie Second Grade finished in sixth position with 1 win and 19 losses.


Coach: Wayne Cook

Assistant Coach: Trevor Treloar

Manager: Garry Keegan

2007 Ainslie Under 18 Team

The Under 18 team finished the home and away in fifth place with 8 wins and 12 losses.


Coach: Malcolm Scholes

Manager: Gary Grozinger


2007 Ainslie Women's Team

The Ainslie Women’s team finished the home and away games in fourth position ahead of ANU on percentage.


In the First Semi Final Ainslie defeated Riverina. Ainslie were defeated in the Preliminary Final to finish in third place.


Karina Demant was selected in the ACT Representative team that played in the Women’s National Carnival in Canberra.


Coach: Shane Gnaden

Manager: Michael Tindale

80th Year Celebrations


Ainslie held a function combined with Presentation Night to celebrate the 80th year of the Club. The Club was formed in 1927. A book about the history of the Ainslie Football Club titled “a Capital achievement” written by Alan Foskett, was launched.


Five former players were also inducted into the Ainslie Wall of Fame. They were Kevin Neale, Keith Heales, Barry Browning, Alan Ray and Bob Bloomfield.

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Billy Neely

Runner up B&F: Ian Lawless

Third B&F: Nick Paine

Coach’s Award: Shaun Mooney

Rising Star: Ash Harris

Richard Fleming Memorial Award: David Love


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Giles Tranter

Runner up B&F: Jason Iten

Best Clubman: Trevor Treloar

Coach’s Award: Stephen Lound


Under 18

Best & Fairest: Jesse Griffin

Runner up B&F: Nathan Barb

Best Club Person: Mitch Mulrooney

Most Promising Player: Ben Perry

Coach’s Award: James Taylor

Bev Trebilcock Award: Stewart Gray



Best & Fairest: Karina Demant

Runner up B&F: Laura Portaro

Most Improved: Luisa Marzotto

Coach’s Award: Bernadette Connors

Encouragement Award: Robyn Hume

Player’s Player: Vanh Manthongsy


Most Prominent Clubman: Colin and Jill Williams

Jaws Award: John Taylor

Club Officials


President: Ian Muir

Senior Vice President: Trevor Lond

Vice President: Wayne Rogers

Secretary: John O’Loughlin

Treasurer: Colin Williams

Committee: Ian Muir, Trevor Lond, Wayne Rogers, John O’Loughlin, Colin Williams, Ian Bradfield, Matthew Conway, Salvo Delorenzo, Brett Hannam, Wayne Kelty

Manager Football Operations: Garry Lawless


Patron: Alan Ray


© 2015 by Ainslie Football