2005 Ainslie First Grade

Ainslie finished the home and away games in second place.


Ainslie were defeated by top side Sydney Swans Reserves in the Second Semi-Final.

Final score: Ainslie 9.12-66 def by Sydney Swans Reserves 11.9-75

Goal kickers for Ainslie: B Doherty 2, J Kavanagh 2, M Barber 1, J Forsyth 1, T Lehmann 1, L Matthews 1, A McSporran 1


Ainslie played Belconnen in the Preliminary Final and were beaten by 10 points to finish in third place.

Final score: 8.9-57 def by 10.7-67

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Doherty 2, L Grose 1, D Jaques 1, J Kavanagh 1, T Lehmann 1, L Matthews 1, N Paine 1


The Ainslie First Grade team for the Preliminary Final was:

Brett Knowles (Capt/Coach), Matthew Barber, Ben Doherty, Joel Forsyth, Paul Grayling, Nathan Greatz, Louis Grose, Danny Jaques, Roy Jaques, James Kavanagh, Ty Lehmann, David Love, Lucas Matthews, Danial McFarlane, Peter McGrath, Dylan Nolan, Nick Paine, Todd Pulford, Ben Scolyer, Justin Searle, Ryan Tutt


Others who played First Grade in 2005 were: Shaune Austin, Aarin Butler, Gerard Cole, Liam Early, Jack Foster, Jarrod Gorman, Mitch Heaslip, Phil Henderson, Jason Kocmar, Alex McSporran, Kimball Powell, Brent Rebecca, Brett Sheehan.


James Kavanagh was the leading goal kicker in the AFL Canberra First Grade competition with 91 goals.


The Ainslie AFL Canberra representatives were Brett Knowles, James Kavanagh, Lucas Matthews, Peter McGrath, Daniel Jaques, Ben Doherty, Matthew Barber and Paul Grayling.


Brett Knowles, Lucas Matthews, Daniel Jaques, James Kavanagh and Paul Grayling were selected in the AFL Canberra Team of the Year.

Ainslie 2005 Second Grade Premiership Team

The Ainslie Second Grade team went through the home and away games undefeated to finish top.


Ainslie defeated Eastlake in the Second Semi-Final.

Final score: Ainslie 12.10-82 def Eastlake 8.11-59

Goal kickers for Ainslie: J Ryan 4, S Truesdale 3, K Powell 2, P Henderson 1, B Scolyer 1, B Sheehan 1


Ainslie met Eastlake again in the Grand Final and defeated them by 62 points to win the Grand Final and so remain undefeated Champions.

Final score: Ainslie 17.9-111 def Eastlake 7.7-49

Goal kickers for Ainslie: P Henderson 3, S Truesdale 3, J Gorman 2, A Kouvaras 2, L Early 1, P Holland 1, J Kocmar 1, A McSporran 1, D Love 1, N Paine 1, K Powell 1


The Ainslie Second Grade Premiership team was:

Backs: Trent Pellow, Nic Louis, Louis Grose

Half backs: Mitch Heaslip, Justin Fromm, Jason Kocmar

Centres: David Love, Paul Holland, Brett Sheehan

Half forwards: Kimball Powell, Andrew Kouvaris, Alex McSporran

Forwards: Sam Truesdale, Julian Ryan, Nick Paine

Followers: Wes McClay, Phil Henderson, Andrew Wainwright

Interchange: Liam Early, Jarrod Gorman, Jack Foster


Andrew Wainwright won the McNamara Medal for the AFL Canberra Best & Fairest in the Second Grade competition.


Coach: Jason Burgess

Ass. Coach: Glen Rebecca

Captain: Andrew Kouvaras, Vice Captain: Andrew Wainwright

Manager: John Mohrwinkel

Ainslie 2005 Under 18

The Ainslie U18 team finished the home and away in fifth place with 7 wins and 11 losses.



Coach: Scott Gibson

Captain: Giles Tranter, Vice Captain: Michael Lawless

Manager: Bryce McJannett

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Paul Grayling

Runner Up B&F: Daniel Jaques

Third B&F: James Kavanagh

Coach’s Award: Justin Searle

Rising Star: Shaune Austin

Past Player’s Award: Paul Grayling


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Andrew Wainwright

Runner Up B&F: Julian Ryan

Best Clubman: Phil Henderson

Player’s Player: Trent Pellow


Under 18

Best & Fairest: Michael Lawless

Runner Up B&F: Daniel Simpson

Best Clubman: Phil Henderson

Most Promising Player: Erin Franklin


Third Grade

Best & Fairest: Andrew Olson, Mark Jillard

Best Clubman: Gavin Pound

Coach’s Award: Leigh Kennedy



Best & Fairest: Karina Demant

Runner Up B&F: Kate Mollison

Most Improved: Anna Stewart

Coach’s Award: Joanne Lounds

Encouragement Award: Fran Babic

Office Bearers


President: Keith Heales

Senior Vice President: Garry Cox

Vice Presidents: Peter Poke, John Smith

Secretary: Fred Lehmann

Treasurer: Peter Poke

Committee: Keith Heales, Garry Cox, Peter Poke, John Smith, Trevor Lond, Mark Simpson, Steven Read, Peter Ireland, Fred Lehmann, Andrew McGrath, Wayne Rogers, Brent Heaver, Glen Rebecca

Football Operations Manager: Garry Lawless


Patron: Alan Ray


© 2015 by Ainslie Football