2004 Ainslie Senior Squad

The AFL Canberra competition had eight teams, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Queanbeyan, Sydney Swans Reserves, Tuggeranong, Wagga and Weston Creek.


Ainslie finished the home and away games in third place on percentage behind Queanbeyan each with 13 wins and 5 losses.


Ainslie First Grade played the Sydney Swans Reserves in the First Semi-Final. After a slow start trailing by 5 goals at quarter time Ainslie slowly fought their way back into the game closing the gap to 13 points at the last change. However an even last quarter gave the Swans victory by 14 points leaving Ainslie in fourth position.

Final score: Ainslie 9.11-65 def by Sydney Swans Reserves 12.7-79

Goal kickers for Ainslie: B Heaver 4, B Doherty 1, D Jaques 1, J Kavanagh 1, L Matthews 1, P McGrath 1


Seven Ainslie players were selected to play AFL Canberra representative football. They were Brett Knowles, James Kavanagh, Lucas Matthews, Peter McGrath, Daniel Jaques, Ben Doherty and Luke Jarjoura. Brett Knowles, Daniel Jaques and Luke Jarjoura were selected in the All Australian Team following the Australian Country Championships.


Players selected in the AFL Canberra Team of the Year were: Brett Knowles, Lucas Matthews, Daniel Jaques, James Kavanagh and Luke Jarjoura.


James Kavanagh was the Club’s leading goal kicker with 61 goals.


Ainslie was awarded the AFL Canberra Club Championship as the best performed Club.


Coach: Brett Knowles

Ass. Coach: Con Moraitis

Manager: Steve Whelan



Second Grade


Ainslie Second Grade finished the Home and Away games on top of the ladder with 17 wins and 1 loss.


Ainslie Second Grade defeated Queanbeyan in the Second Semi-Final.

Final score: Ainslie 16.8-104 def Queanbeyan 11.5-71

Goal kickers for Ainslie: A Kouvaras 4, G Budd 3, D Harrison 3, S Austin 2, J Angel 1, C Fitzclarence 1, K McRedmond 1, W Schuck 1


Ainslie played Queanbeyan again in the Grand Final. In a closer game Ainslie were able to win by 15 points and so win the Club’s 20th Second Grade Premiership.

Final score: Ainslie 12.8-80 def Queanbeyan 9.11-65

Goal kickers for Ainslie: A Butler 3, G Budd 2, P Holland 2, N Marshall 2, A Kouvaras 1, S Truesdale 1, J Searle 1


Ainslie team for the Second Grade Grand Final was:

Backs: Jason Kocmar, Nick Louis, Jeremy Buckley

Half backs: Neil Marshall, James Angel, Brett Cumming

Centres: Justin Searle, Andrew Wainwright, Louis Grose

Half forwards: Aarin Butler, Andrew Kouvaras, Kieran McRedmond

Forwards: Sam Truesdale, Graeme Budd, Wayne Schuck

Followers: Roger McIntyre, Dane Harrison, Wayde Archibald

Interchange: Ty Lehmann, Paul Holland, Jack Foster


Andrew Kouvaras won the League’s Best and Fairest in Second Grade, the McNamara Trophy.


Coach: Jason Burgess

Ass. Coach: Glen Rebecca

Captains: James Angel and Andrew Kouvaras

Manager: John Mohrwinkel





Under 18


Ainslie under 18s won 13 and lost 5 games during the home and away finishing in second position


Ainslie were well beaten in the Second Semi Final by Marist.

Final score: Ainslie 1.8-14 def by Marist 13.9-87

Goal kicker for Ainslie: Shane Dryden


In the Preliminary Final Ainslie were again well beaten by Queanbeyan to finish in third place.

Final score: Ainslie 4.6-30 def by Queanbeyan 9.11-65

Goal kickers for Ainslie: M Lawless 2, Erin Franklin 1, Drew Alsford 1


Shaune Austin won the AFL Canberra Best & Fairest Award in the Under 18 Grade, the T A Wharton Trophy.


Coach: Scott Gibson

Manager: Mark Simpson



Third Grade


Ainslie Thirds played in the AFL Canberra District Division 1 competition and finished in third position after the home and away with 8 wins and 6 losses.


The Third Grade team defeated Gungahlin in the First Semi-Final.

Final score: Ainslie 9.14-68 def Gungahlin 5.9-39

Goal kickers for Ainslie: D Jean 4, T Gardner 2, B Kaye 1, B Sutherland 1, T Treloar 1


In the Preliminary Final against ANU Ainslie were defeated by 5 points.

Final score: Ainslie 6.10-46 def by ANU 7.9-51

Goal kickers for Ainslie: D Loveder 2, D Jean 2, T Gardner 1, T Treloar 1


Players who played in the Thirds Preliminary Final were:

Jared Cox, Shaun Cox, Jack England, Justin Fromm, Robert Gallagher, Tom Gardner, David Hardy, Phil Henderson, David Jean, Mark Jillard, Bill Kaye, John Kaye, Leigh Kennedy, David Loveder, Joe Mann, Peter Ness, Paul Opray, Patrick Scanlon, Jake Smith, Brendan Sutherland, Toby Treloar, Justin Westcott

Others who played games in the Thirds were: Shane Apsey, Tim Chandler, Liam Early, A Gray, David Gudgeon, Paul Harders, C Hendry, Peter Khalil, Gavin Lambert, Mark Lush, Chris Nixon, D Orr, Mathew Richardson, Jonathon Rider, Nathan Rudder, Ben Smith, Matthew Strand, David Terrell, Anthony Watkins.


Coach: Trevor Treloar

Ass. Coach: Gavin Pound

Manager: Shane Kershaw






The Ainslie Women’s team did not win a game in 2004.


Dani Curcio was selected to play Representative football for the ACT.


Coach: Shane Gnaden

Manager: Lyn Randall

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Lucas Matthews

Runner Up B&F: Brett Knowles

Third B&F: Daniel Jaques

Coach’s Award: James Kavanagh

Rising Star: Matthew Barber

Player’s Player: Lucas Matthews

Best Defensive Player: Matthew Barber

Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Todd Pulford


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Andrew Kouvaras

Runner Up B&F: Roger McIntyre

Best Clubman: Tim Chandler

Player’s Player: Jason Kocmar


Under 18

Best & Fairest: David Love

Runner Up B&F: Shaune Austin

Best Club Person: Giles Tranter

Most Promising Player: Erin Franklin

Bev Trebilcock Award: Daniel Simpson



Best & Fairest: Jake Smith

Runner Up B&F: Phil Henderson

Best Clubman: Joe Mann

Coach’s Award: Leigh Kennedy



Best & Fairest: Dani Curcio

Runner Up B&F: Clare Warwick

Most Improved: Sandra Redmond

Coach’s Award: Victoria Bickford

Encouragement Award: Sharon Hicks


Most Prominent Club Person: Mark Simpson

Jaws Award: Terry Pulford

Office Bearers


President: Keith Heales

Senior Vice President: Garry Cox

Vice Presidents: Peter Poke, John Smith

Secretary: Trevor Lond

Treasurer; Peter Ireland

Committee: Keith Heales, Garry Cox, Peter Poke, John Smith, Trevor Lond, Peter Ireland, Colin Williams, Ian Bradfield, Mark Simpson, Steven Read, Fred Lehmann, Andrew McGrath, Wayne Rogers

Manager Football Operations: Garry Lawless


Patron: Alan Ray


© 2015 by Ainslie Football