1999 Ainslie First Grade

In the Canberra League in 1999 there were six Clubs, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Queanbeyan, Tuggeranong and Weston Creek Wildcats.


Former Melbourne, Carlton and Port Power AFL player Brent Heaver was appointed coach.


Ainslie finished out of the finals for the second consecutive year.


Aldo Dipetta played his 100th First Grade game for the Club.


Brian Stanislaus was the Club’s leading goal kicker with 30 goals.


ACT Representative players were: Paul Gambale, Dion Grant, Brent Heaver and Chris Smith.


Captain/Coach: Brent Heaver

Managers: John Rebecca, Brian Dobson

1999 Ainslie Second Grade


The Second Grade finished the home and away games on top of the ladder.


In the Second Semi-Final Ainslie defeated Belconnen by 9 points to go through to the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 12.10-82 def Belconnen 11.7-73

Goal kickers for Ainslie: J Read 5, P Crosby 2, T Klep 2, M Sheridan 2, M Sinclair 1


In the Grand Final Ainslie again met Belconnen and defeated them by 31 points to win the Premiership.

Final score: Ainslie 14.14-98 def Belconnen 9.13-67

Goal kickers for Ainslie: J Read 4, P Crosby 2, B Rebecca 2, M Sheridan 2, J Burgess 1,T Klep 1, E Smith 1, M Sinclair 1


The Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team was:

Backs: Sean Woodland, Simeon Blowse, Ryan Storey

Half Backs: Paul Colussi, Ben Battisson, Paul Salter

Centres: Evan Smith, Andrew Wainwright, Try Klep

Half Forwards: Jason Burgess, Mark Sinclair, Brent Rebecca

Forwards: Dean McGee, John Read, Peter Crosby

Rucks: Andrew Kouvaras, Aaron Tyndall, Marcus Sheridan

Interchange: Jesse Brooks, Chris Tournier, Sam Truesdale


Andrew Kouvaras was awarded the medal for the Best Player in the Second Grade Grand Final.

John Read led the League’s goal kicking in Second Grade with 65 goals.


Coach: Wayne Kelty

Captains: Jason Burgess and Sean Woodland

Manager: Tom Munyard

Canberra District Division


The District team played in the finals but were defeated by Gungahlin in the First Semi-Final to finish in fourth place.


Coach: Dave Crawford




The Ainslie Women’s team played off in the Semi-Final but were defeated to finish in fourth place.


Coach: Jeff de Huis

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Chris Smith

Runner Up B&F: Paul Gambale

Most Consistent: Todd Pulford

Coach’s Award: Salem Kassem


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Andrew Kouvaras

Runner Up B&F: Brent Rebecca

Most Consistent: John Read

Best in Finals: Andrew Kouvaras


District Division

Best & Fairest: Steve Glowrey

Runner Up B&F: Anthony Weston

Most Consistent: Tim Chandler

Leading Goalkicker: Graham Budd

Most Improved: Ben Thornton



Best & fairest: Tracey Baxter

Runner Up B&F: Christie Williams

Leading Goalkicker: jade McCormick

Most Consistent: Anne Kirwan

Most Improved: Tracey Axelby

Club Officials


President: Garry Cox

Secretary: Keith Heales

Treasurer: Kel Duncan

Senior Vice President: John Miller

Vice President: Craig Smith

Committee: Garry Cox, John Miller, Craig Smith, Keith Heales, Kel Duncan, Peter Ireland, Trevor Lond, Geoff McCormick, Stewart Morgan, Ian Muir, Peter Poke, Mark Sinclair


Patron: Alan Ray


© 2015 by Ainslie Football