1997 Ainslie First Grade Premiership Team

In the Canberra League in 1997 there were eight Clubs, Ainslie, Belconnen, Campbelltown, Defence, Eastlake, Queanbeyan, Tuggeranong and Weston Creek.


In 1997 Ainslie Football Club celebrated the return to the Ainslie Oval and the 70th Anniversary of joining the Canberra League.


Former North Melbourne player Ross Smith was appointed as coach.


Ainslie finished on top of the First Grade table at the end of the home and away games losing five games during the season.


Ainslie defeated Queanbeyan in the Second Semi-Final to go straight through to the Grand Final.

Final score:  Ainslie 11.12-78 def Queanbeyan 6.5-41

Goal kickers for Ainslie: I Muir 2, R Smith 2, P Craig 2, R Langan 1, A Dipetta, 1, G Gorman 1, M Kick 1, S Kent 1

Best: J Dickie, S Kent, G Gorman, M Richardson, M Kynaston


Ainslie met Tuggeranong in the Grand Final after they defeated Queanbeyan in the Preliminary Final. Ainslie were able to win their sixth straight Premiership winning by 34 points. This was a new League record.

Final score: Ainslie 14.8-92 def Tuggeranong 8.10-58

Goal kickers for Ainslie: P Craig 4, I Muir 4, R Langan 2, A Bishop 2, T Pulford 1, M Mullins 1

Best: R Langan, G Gorman, M Richardson, P Craig, I Muir


Grand Final Team:

Backs: Andrew Gillow, Scott Gibson, Martin Kick

Half backs: Ross Smith (Capt.), Mark Kynaston, Stephen Kent

Centres: Tommy Weetra, Glenn Gorman, Andrew Bishop

Half Forwards: John Ligerwood, John Dickie, Peter Ireland

Forwards: Todd Pulford, Ian Muir, Paul Craig

Rucks: Michael Richardson, Reece Langan, Marcus Sheridan

Interchange: Aldo Dipetta, Michael Mullins, Phillip Evans



Reece Langan was awarded the Alex Jesaulenko Medal for the Best Player in the First Grade Grand Final.


Ian Muir was the Club’s leading goal kicker in First Grade with 44 goals.


During the season Andrew Bishop and Ian Muir played their 200th First Grade game for the Club. Stephen Kent played his 100th game.


Players that represented the ACT in 1997 were Reece Langan, Ross Smith, Todd Pulford, Robbie Miller and Martin Kick.

1997 Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

Ainslie Second Grade finished the home and away games in top position with 15 wins and 2 losses.


Ainslie played Eastlake in the Second Semi-Final winning by 21 points and going through to the Grand Final.


Playing Eastlake again in the Grand Final Ainslie fought back after being  5 goals down to win by 1 point.

Final score: Ainslie 15.11-101 def Eastlake 15.10-100

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Hegarty 4, Jamieson 2, Sinclair 2, Zochling 2, Baxter 1, Hannam 1, Ward 1, Wheatley 1, G Bishop 1

Best: Munday, Hegarty, Sinclair, Wainwright, Wheatley




The Second Grade Grand Final Team was:

Backs: Sean Woodland, Chris Tournier, Jason Burgess

Half Backs: Paul Colussi, Maurice Patten, Greg Bishop

Centres: Simon Wheatley, Andrew Wainwright, Chris Smith

Half Forwards: Matthew Zochling, Mark Sinclair, Dean McGee

Forwards: Matthew Jamieson, Brett Hannam, Matthew Hegarty

Rucks: Damian Munday, Bruce Gilmour, Robbie Baxter

Interchange: Graham Hincksman, Brett Lennard, Rohan Ward


Brett Hannam was the League’s leading goal kicker in Second Grade with 50 goals.


Robbie Baxter won the J McNamara Trophy for the Best & Fairest in the League’s Second Grade.


Coach: Con Moraitis

Manager: John Mohrwinkel




© 2015 by Ainslie Football