1993 Ainslie First Grade Premiership Team

The ACTAFL Competition had seven teams, Ainslie, Batemans Bay, Belconnen, Queanbeyan, Southern District, Tuggeranong and Weston Creek


Ainslie finished the home and away games in third place with 13 wins and 5 losses behind Weston Creek and Southern District.


Ainslie defeated Queanbeyan in the First Semi-Final to advance to the Preliminary Final.

Final score: Ainslie 16.14-110 def Queanbeyan 10.17-77

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Mohrwinkel 4, Wallensky 3, Conway 2, McCallum 2, Sinclair 1, Pulford 1, G Zochling 1, Ireland 1, Douglass 1

Best: Mohrwinkel, Cloke, Graham, Muir, Heard, McCallum, Conway


Ainslie played Weston Creek in the Preliminary Final. Ainslie trailed by 2 goals at three quarter time and hit the lead for the first time half way through a tense last quarter.

Final score: Ainslie 11.14-80 def Weston Creek 10.9-69

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Heard 3, Sinclair 2, McCallum 2, Mohrwinkel 1, Wallensky 1, Zochling 1, Douglass 1

Best: Heard, Graham, Muir, Cloke, Gibson, Kent, Conway


Ainslie easily defeated Southern District in the Grand Final at Football Park, Phillip to win their 18th Premiership.

Final score: Ainslie 20.16-136 def Southern District 8.17-65

Goal kickers for Ainslie: McCallum 4, Zochling 3, Wallensky 3, Mohrwinkel 2, A Bishop 2, Sinclair 1, Heard 1, Conway 1, Douglas 1, Griffin 1, Guthrie 1

Best: Cloke, McCallum, A Bishop, Conway, Graham, Zochling, Heard


David Cloke was awarded the Alex Jesaulenko Medal for best on the ground in the Grand Final.


The Ainslie First Grade Grand Final team was:

Backs: Shane Griffin, Scott Gibson, Shane Trebilcock

Half backs: Stephen Kent, Ian Muir, David Graham

Centres: David McCallum, Matthew Conway, Andrew Bishop

Half forwards: Gerald Zochling, Tony Douglas, Aldo Dipette

Forwards: Mark Sinclair, Peter Wallensky, Peter Ireland

Rucks: David Cloke, Shane Heard, Jeff Mohrwinkel

Interchange: Robbie Baxter, Phil Guthrie


Peter Wallensky won the League’s goal kicking award, the Kevin Neale Trophy, with 94 goals for the season.


Players that represented the ACT were David Cloke, Gerard Zochling, Aldo Dipetta, Matt Conway, Peter Wallensky, Stephen Kent and David McCallum.


Gerard Zochling played his 100th game for the Club.


Coach: David Cloke

Manager: Bill Harvey

Second Grade


The Ainslie Second Grade team finished the home and away games in second position with 14 wins and 4 losses behind leaders Southern District.


Ainslie Second Grade were defeated in the Second Semi-Final by Southern District.

Final score: Ainslie 5.10-40 def by Southern District 21.9-135

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Read 2, Snowden 2, Kelty 1

Best: Schmidt, Killer, O’Halloran, G Bishop, Fawcett


Ainslie defeated Weston Creek in the Preliminary to set up a rematch with Southern District in the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 23.10-148 def Weston Creek 14.17-101

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Read 6, Kelty 3, Snowden 3, Hegarty 2, McDonald 2, Battison 1, G Bishop 1, Fawcett 1, Garland 1, Kelly 1, Killer 1, O’Halloran 1

Best: Phipps, G Bishop, Snowden, Read, Fawcett, Garland


Ainslie were defeated by Southern District in the Second Grade Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 16.13-109 def by Southern District 21.14-140

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Read 4, Snowden 4, Kelty 3, McDonald 2, Battison 1, Fawcett 1, Pulford 1

Best: Read, Snowden, Burgess, Fawcett, Killer, Garland


Coach: Graham Read

Manager: Stephen Read

Under 19


Ainslie Under 19s finished the home and away games in third place with 9 wins and 8 losses.


The U19s were defeated in the First Semi-Final by Tuggeranong to finish fourth.

Final score: Ainslie 4.11-35 def by Tuggeranong 18.14-122

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Loughton 1, Papadopoulas 1, Rodgers 1, M Zochling 1

Best: Phillips, J Ingram, Hegarty, Brandt, Moore


Coach: Ralph Rendell

Manager: John Mohrwinkel



The Ainslie Monaro team in Division 2 defeated Harman in the Second Semi-Final to go through to the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 8.26-74 def Harman 3.9-27

Main Goal kickers for Ainslie: Hogan 2, A Telford 2

Best: Stephens, Vanning, Delorenzo


Ainslie defeated Harman in the Monaro Grand Final to win the Premiership.

Final score: Ainslie 14.14-98 def Harman 6.7-43

Main Goal kickers for Ainslie: Vandijk 6, Collins 3

Best: Delorenzo, Collins, Stephens


Salvo Delorenzo won the trophy for the best on the ground in the Division 2 Grand Final.


Coach: Peter Telford

Managers: Kerry Guthrie, Neil Schmahl

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Jeff Mohrwinkel

Runner-up B&F: David Cloke
Most Consistent: David McCallum

Most Valuable Player: Gerard Zochling

Best Player in Finals: David Cloke

Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Andrew Bishop


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Stephen Phipps

Runner-up B&F: Greg Bishop
Most Consistent: Geoff Edwards

Most Improved: Sean Woodland

Best Player in Finals: Stephen Phipps


Under 19

Best & Fairest: Marcus Dowling

Runner-up B&F: Otis Papadopolous
Most Consistent: Gavin Pound

Most Improved: Stephen Phillips

Best Player in Finals: Matthew Hegarty

Ted Dhu Most Promising U19 Player: Stuart Butterfield

Bev Trebilcock Memorial Award: Jason Bridge


Best & Fairest: Peter Telford

Runner-up B&F: Gene Marini
Most Consistent: Salvo Delorenzo

Best in Finals: Guy Townsend


Most Prominent Clubman: Garry Cox

Club Officials


President:  Dale Seymour

Senior Vice President: Bruce Glossop

Vice Presidents: Garry Marshall, Andrew McGrath, Garry Cox

Secretary: Keith Heales
Treasurer: Kel Duncan, Malcolm Scholes

Committee: John Rebecca, Con Moraitis, Joe Cortese, Trevor Lond, Kerry McGlinn, Mark Scholes, Terry Whelan, James Horniblow, Stephen Read, Lee Phillips, Ross Hincksman, Rick Browne, Clare Palmer


© 2015 by Ainslie Football