1992 Ainslie First Grade Premiership Team

Ainslie appointed ex-AFL Richmond and Collingwood player David Cloke as Coach for a three year term.


The ACTAFL Competition had six teams, Ainslie, Belconnen, Queanbeyan, Southern District, Tuggeranong and Weston Creek.


Ainslie First Grade finished on top of the table after the home and away games with 13 wins and 2 losses.


They played Queanbeyan in the Second Semi-Final and won by 9 points.

Final score: Ainslie 13.7-85 def Queanbeyan 9.22-76
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Mohrwinkel 3, Zochlin 2, Abud 2, McCallum 2, Richardson 1, Fleming 1, A Bishop 1, Whelan 1
Best: Cloke, Gibson, Mohrwinkel, Zochling, G Bishop, Conway, Muir


Ainslie played Queanbeyan again in the Grand Final at Football Park, Phillip. In a hard, physical game Ainslie led by 33 points at three quarter time and held on to defeat Queanbeyan by 10 points.
Final score: Ainslie 9.18-72 def Queanbeyan 7.20-62
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Zochling 2, Fleming 1, Mohrwinkel 1, Rogers 1, Ireland 1, Heard 1, Annand 1, McCallum 1
Best: Muir, Gibson, Zochling, Ireland, Conway, McCallum, Cloke, Heard, Kent.

The Grand Final Team was:

Backs: Greg Bishop, Ian Muir, Stephen Kent

Half backs: Scott Gibson, Matt Conway, Shane Griffin

Centres: David McCallum, Shane Heard, Shane Art

Half forwards: Gerard Zochling, Michael Richardson, David Abud

Forwards, Mark Sinclair, Chris Fleming, Stuart Annand

Rucks: David Cloke, Jack Ireland, Jeff Mohrwinkel

Interchange: Andrew Bishop, Wayne Rogers Emergencies: Paul Whelan, Todd Pulford, Robert Kelly


David McCallum was awarded the Alex Jesaulenko Medal for Best on the Ground in the Grand Final.

Captain/Coach David Cloke hold up the Premiership Cup

Chris Fleming was the Club’s leading goalkicker with 79 goals, followed by Gerard Zochling with 45.


Gerard Zochling was Runner-up in the League’s First Grade Best & Fairest Award, the Mulrooney Medal.


Robbie Baxter played his 150th First Grade game in 1992. Ian Muir and Michael Richardson played their 100th game.


Ainslie won the C W Chandler Club Championship Trophy for the 16th time in 29 years.

1992 Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

Ainslie defeated Queanbeyan in the Second Grade Second Semi-Final by 34 points.
Final score: Ainslie 15.15-105 def Queanbeyan 10.11-71
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Kelly 4, Kelty 4, Rogers 3, Collins 2, Anderson 1, Wallensky 1
Best: Rendell, Rogers, Kelly, Van Dijk, McTaggart


Ainslie played Queanbeyan again in the Second Grade Grand Final and had a big win by 87 points.
Final score: Ainslie 25.15-165 def Queanbeyan 12.6-78
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Kelty 6, Garland 5, Snowden 4, Collins 3, McTaggart 2, Kelly 2, Baxter 2, Edwards 1
Best: Snowden, Rendell, Garland, Pulford, Baxter, Hand, Graham


Michael Collins won the League’s Best & Fairest in the Second Grade, the J McNamara Trophy, in a tie with Queanbeyan’s Geoff Deeble.


Wayne Kelty was the League’s and the Club’s leading Second Grade goal kicker with 78 goals.


Patrick Palmer played his 200th Second Grade game during the season. Trevor Lond played his 100th Second Grade game.

1992 Ainslie Under 19 Team

The Under 19 team experienced a shortage of players in 1992 and had a tough season finishing on the bottom of the ladder after the home and away games.


Justin Ingram, Matthew Ingram, Ben Battisson and Paul Whelan represented the ACT at the U17 Teal Cup and the School boys Competition. Paul Whelan was selected in the All-Australian team at the Teal Cup. Ben Battisson was selected in the All-Australian Schoolboys team.


Coach: Terry Whelan

Manager: John Mohrwinkel

1992 Ainslie Monaro Team


Ainslie finished outside the top four after the home and away games winning only 2 games.


Coach: Peter Telford

Manager: Maryanne Mann



Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: David Cloke

Runner-up B&F: Gerard Zochling
Most Consistent: Jeff Mohrwinkel

Most Valuable Player: Matt Conway

Best Player in Finals: Stephen Kent

Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Shane Griffin


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Michael Collins

Runner-up B&F: Stephen Phipps
Most Consistent: Wayne Rogers, Anthony Garland

Most Improved: Gath Berry

Best Player in Finals: Stuart Rendell


Under 19

Best & Fairest: Justin Ingram

Runner-up B&F: Dale Cunningham
Most Consistent: Matthew Ingram

Most Improved: Damien Moore

Ted Dhu Most Promising U19 Player: Danny Grimsley


Best & Fairest: Paul Stephens

Runner-up B&F: Matt Guthrie
Most Consistent: Joe Mann

Most Improved: John Streatfield


Most Prominent Clubman: Joe Cortese

Jaws Award: Fred Lehmann

Club Officials


President:  Dale Seymour

Senior Vice President: Bruce Glossop

Vice Presidents: Garry Cox, Andrew McGrath

Secretary: Malcolm Scholes
Ass. Secretary: Lee Phillips

Committee: John Rebecca, Con Moraitis, Joe Cortese, Trevor Lond, Bill Harvey, Terry Pulford, Jerry O’Halloran, James Horniblow


© 2015 by Ainslie Football