1990 Ainslie First Grade Premiership Team

The Canberra League consisted of Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka-Weston, Queanbeyan and Tuggeranong. Ainslie played their home games at the redeveloped O’Connor Oval.


In the last home and away game Ainslie defeated Eastlake by 163 points with full forward Chris Fleming kicking 15 goals. Ainslie finished the home and away in second place with 15 wins, 3 losses and a draw behind Queanbeyan with 18 wins.


Ainslie played top team Queanbeyan in the Second Semi-Final at Football Park. Ainslie had a dominant first half leading by 6 goals at the long break. They went on to win by 29 points and advance through to the Grand Final.
Final score: Ainslie 23.13-151 def Queanbeyan 19.8-122
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Fleming 7, Mohrwinkel 5, Sinclair 2, Zochling 2, McTaggart 2, Conway 1, Hannam 1, Baxter 1, Ireland 1, A Bishop 1
Best: Sinclair, Mohrwinkel, Hannam, Fleming, Conway, McTaggart, Bishop


Ainslie played Queanbeyan again in the Grand Final at Football Park. In a hard fought, fiery match Ainslie ran out winners by 27 points to win their 16th Premiership.

Final score: Ainslie 16.12-108 def Queanbeyan 10.21-81
Goal Kickers for Ainslie: Hannam 4, Fleming 4, Mohrwinkel 3, Hird 2, Conway 1, Kelly 1, Foley 1
Best: Hannam, Bishop, Muir, Conway, Killer, Kelly, Foley


The Ainslie Team for the Grand Final was:
Backs: Jamie Dennis, Mark Killer, Ian Muir
Half Backs: Peter Brown, Maurice Wingate, Scott Gibson
Centres: Andrew Bishop, Matt Conway, Robert Kelly
Hal Forwards: Mark Sinclair, Brett Hannam, James Hird
Forwards: Jeff Mohrwinkel, Chris Fleming, Gerard Zochling
Rucks: Barry Denton, Jack Ireland, Robbie Baxter
Bench: From Michael Richardson, Shane Stockwell, Stephen Kent, Peter Foley


Other players who played in First Grade during the 1990 season were:
Greg Bishop, Grant Brady, Michael Collins, David Graham, Darren Hawkins, Gordon Marshall, John Read, Luke Revet, Pas Rocca, Wayne Rogers, Craig Smith, Brenton Walters


Chris Fleming led the Ainslie First Grade goal kicking with 62 goals in only 8 games.


Ainslie won the C.W. Chandler Trophy for the Club Championship.

Captain/Coach Brett Hannam won the FM104.7 Player of the Year Award.


Ainslie players that played for the ACT Representative team were:
Barry Denton, Brett Hannam, James Hird, Andrew Bishop, Ian Muir, Maurice Wingate, Peter Ireland, Michael Richardson and Jeff Mohrwinkel.


James Hird at age 17 was drafted by Essendon at pick 79 and went on to play 253 AFL games. Hird had played 7 First Grade games with Ainslie in 1990 including the Grand Final.
Chris Smith, an ex-Ainslie Junior, also aged 17 was drafted by Richmond at pick 28 but did not play an AFL game. Returned to Ainslie in 1999 and played 27 First Grade games.

1990 Ainslie First and Second Grade Players

Second Grade


Ainslie finished the home and away season in second place with 16 wins and 3 losses.

They played Queanbeyan in the Second Semi-Final but were defeated by 48 points.
Final score: Ainslie 10.11-71 def by Queanbeyan 17.17-119
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Collins 3, Hird 2, Stockwell 1, Kenneally 1, Connick 1, Devenish 1, Woodland 1
Best: G Bishop, Burgess, Kenneally, Hird, Stockwell


Ainslie played Manuka-Weston in the Preliminary Final. Manuka-Weston was far too good winning by 150 points and so ending Ainslie’s season in third place.
Final score: Ainslie 7.8-50 def by Manuka-Weston 30.20-200
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Kenneally 2, Connick 1, Hincksman 1, Kelty 1, Stockwell 1, Woodland 1


Coach: Malcolm Scholes
Captain: Wayne Kelty, Vice Captains: Greg Bishop and Trevor Lond


Wayne Kelty was the leading goal kicker in Second Grade and finished the season with 90 goals.

1990 Ainslie Under 19 Team

U19 Grade


The U19 team finished as minor Premiers only losing 2 of 20 home and away games.


They played Belconnen in the Second Semi-Final and won by 27 points.
Final score: Ainslie 15.13-103 def Belconnen 12.4-76
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Read 5, Kent 4, Garland 1, Kaye 1, King 1, O’Halloran 1, Pulford 1, White 1
Best: Graham, Kent, Read, Pulford, Whelan, Tournier


The Under 19s played Manuka-Weston in the Grand Final going down by 7 points.
Final score: Ainslie 10.9-69 def by Manuka Weston 11.10-76
Goal Kickers for Ainslie: O’Halloran 3, Read 2, Garland 2, Snowdon 1, Whelan 1, White 1
Best: Stephens, Garland, Graham, Smeaton, O’Halloran


John Read kicked 83 goals for the U19s and led the League U19 goal kicking.


Coach: Graham Read
Captain: Matt Stephens, Vice Captain: David Graham

1990 Ainslie Monaro League, 2nd Division Premiership Team

Monaro League, 2nd Division


The Monaro team finished the home and away games in second place behind East Canberra.


They lost the Second Semi Final to East Canberra by 34 points.
Final score: Ainslie  8.5-53 def by East Canberra 13.11-89
Main goal kickers for Ainslie: Kearns 3, Martin 2
Best: Kearns, Bourne, Telford


Ainslie played West Canberra in the Preliminary Final and won by 104 points to set up a rematch with East Canberra in the Grand Final.
Final score: Ainslie 19.18-132 def West Canberra 4.4-28
Main goal kickers for Ainslie: Van Dijk 8, Kearns 4
Best: Van Dijk, Mohrwinkel, McCrohon

Ainslie reversed the Semi-Final result against East Canberra in the Grand Final to win by 27 points and take out the Monaro 2nd Division Premiership.
Final score: Ainslie 11.14-80 def East Canberra 7.11-53


Coach: Con Moraitis
Captain: Trent Bourne, Vice Captain: Salvo Delorenzo

Club Awards


First Grade
Best & Fairest: Maurice Wingate
Runner Up B&F: Barry Denton
Most Consistent: Mark Sinclair
Most Improved: Matt Conway
Best Player in Finals: Jeff Mohrwinkel
Coach’s Award: Gerard Zochling


Second Grade
Best & Fairest: Michael Collins
Runner Up B&F: Jason Burgess
Most Consistent: Shane McKeahnie
Most Improved: Richard Baumhammer
Best in Finals: Dean Kenneally
Coach’s Award: Trevor Lond


Under 19
Best & Fairest: David Graham
Runner Up B&F: Matthew Stephens
Most Consistent: John Read
Most Improved: Chris Tournier
Best in Finals: David Graham


Best & Fairest: Richard Smith
Runner Up B&F: Kim Vandijk
Most Consistent: Salvo Delorenzo
Most Improved: Darren Kearns
Best in Finals: Gath Berry


Club Awards
Most Prominent Clubman: Iain Rose and John Weeks
Jaws Award: Iain Rose
Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Jeff Mohrwinkel and Robbie Baxter
Baitz Liquors Award for Best First Year First Grade Player: James Hird


Club Officials

President:  David Lalor
Senior Vice President: Bruce Glossop
Vice Presidents: Garry Cox, W Harvey, R Smith
Secretary: Noel McCormack
Ass Secretary: A McGrath
Treasurer: Kel Duncan
Committee: Karl Blundell, G Croser, Ian Kirkpatrick, Brian Palmer, Clare Palmer, Lee Phillips, Dale Seymour
Patron: Stan Ray


© 2015 by Ainslie Football