1989 Ainslie Senior Squad

The 1989 ACTAFL Competition consisted of six teams, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka Weston, Queanbeyan and Tuggeranong.


Coach Russel Durnan resigned from the position one week before the competition was due to begin. Ainslie appointed Brett Hannam as Captain/Coach with Maurice Wingate his assistant one day before the opening night game against Queanbeyan. The team overcame the difficulties to win the game.


At the completion of the home and away games Ainslie were in second place behind Queanbeyan with 13 wins and 2 losses.


Ainslie First Grade were defeated in the Second Semi-Final by Queanbeyan. The Lead changed 10 times during the game and Ainslie held a 22 point lead 10 minutes into the last quarter but with the wind behind them Queanbeyan stormed home.

Final score: Ainslie 13.9-87 def by Queanbeyan 14.21-105

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Killer 4, Trebilcoock 3, Gills 3, Wingate 2, McTaggart 1

Best: Muir, Wingate, Hannam, Gills, Rogers, Ireland


Ainslie were defeated in the Preliminary Final by Manuka-Weston to finish in third place. Manuka-Weston dominated the first quarter setting up a 3 goal lead which Ainslie couldn’t peg back. It was their first win over Ainslie for the season.

Final score: Ainslie 7.10-52 def by Manuka-Weston 11.13-79

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Gills 2, Crisp 1, Zochling 1, Wingate 1, Hannam 1, Killer 1

Best: Hannam, Smith, Ireland, Richardson, Muir, Gills


The Ainslie First Grade Team for the Preliminary Final was:

Backs: Shane Stockwell. Peter Brown, Ian Muir

Half Backs: Wayne Rogers, Brett Hannam, Mathew Conway

Centres: Robert McTaggart, Maurice Wingate, Shaun Wornes

Half Forwards: Craig Smith, Shane Trebilcock, Peter Ireland

Forwards: Andrew Bishop, Mark Killer, Matthew Crisp

Rucks: Richardson, Gerard Zochling, Dean Gills

Interchange: Finkelde, Van Dijk

Emergencies: Dale Saymour, Greg Bishop


Queanbeyan defeated Manuka-Weston in the Grand Final, 12.15-87 to 9.13-67, to win the 1989 Premiership.


Dean Gills was the Club’s leading goal kicker in First Grade with 39 goals.


Ainslie players who represented the ACT against Tasmania were Michael Richardson, Gerard Zochling, Craig Smith, Mark Killer, Dean Gills, Peter Ireland and Matthew Crisp.


Coach: Brett Hannam

Manager: John Rebecca


Second Grade


The Second Grade finished the home and away games as Minor Premiers and were undefeated with 15 wins.


Ainslie Second Grade defeated Queanbeyan in the Second Semi-Final to remain undefeated and proceed through to the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 13.11-89 def Queanbeyan 10.9-69

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Kelty 6, Ellis 2, Graney 2, Finkelde 2, Cusack 1

Best: Graney, Telford, Ellis, Bishop, Palmer


The Ainslie Second Grade team suffered their first loss of the season in the Grand Final as Queanbeyan reversed the result of the Second Semi-Final. Ainslie got within 8 points during the last quarter but Queanbeyan steadied to win by 39 points.

Final score: Ainslie 9.11-65 def by Queanbeyan 15.14-104

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Kelty 5, Scholes 1, Palmer 1, Van Dijk 1, Collins 1

Best: Brady, Conway, Ellis, Scholes, Michel, Connick


Wayne Kelty was the League’s leading goal kicker in Second Grade with 79 goals.


Coach: Malcolm Scholes

Manager: R Turner


1989 Ainslie Under 19 Team

The U19s had a difficult year with lack of numbers and finished the home and away games on the bottom of the table with only 1 win for the season.


Coach: Ralph Rendell

Manager: John Mohrwinkel




Due to lack of player numbers the Club was unable to enter a team in the Monaro competition.

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Craig Smith

Runner Up B&F: Michael Richardson

Most Consistent: Maurice Wingate

Most Improved: Shane Stockwell


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Malcolm Scholes

Runner Up B&F: Craig Ellis

Most Consistent: Michael Connick

Most Improved: Tim Graney

Coach’s Award: Grant Brady


Under 19

Best & Fairest: Paul Smeaton

Runner Up B&F: Sean Palmer

Most Consistent: Peter Short

Most Improved: Scott Lilley

Coach’s Award: Brett Jones


Under 17


Best & Fairest: Saul Dollimore

Runner Up B&F: John Read

Most Consistent: Shane King

Most Improved: Tim Brennan

Coach’s/Manager’s Award: Shane Stevens


Most Prominent Clubman: Garry Cox

Jaws Award: Trevor Lond

Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Scott Gibson

Baitz Liquor Award for Best First Year Player: Shane Trebilcock

Club Officials


President: David Lalor

Senior Vice Presidents: Don Andrews, Bruce Glossop

Vice Presidents: Reg Smith, Greg Croser, Bill Harvey

Secretary: Noel McCormack

Ass. Secretary: Andrew McGrath

Treasurer: Karl Blundell

Committee: Garry Cox, Des Eddowes, Brian Palmer, Kel Duncan, John Rebecca, Ian Kirkpatrick, Ross Hincksman, Kevin Grace, Don Cross


Patron: Stan Ray


© 2015 by Ainslie Football