1988 Ainslie First Grade Team

The 1988 ACTAFL Competition consisted of six teams, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka Weston, Queanbeyan and Tuggeranong.


Ainslie were minor Premiers after the home and away winning 16 games and losing 4. Ainslie’s three top teams, First Grade, Second Grade and U19s, all reached the Grand Final. Disappointingly however no team won the Premiership.


Ainslie First Grade were defeated in the Second Semi-Final by Queanbeyan. With Queanbeyan leading by 1 point at the last break the lead changed six times in the last quarter with Queanbeyan ahead by 4 points when the final siren sounded.

Final score: Ainslie 15.14-104 def by Queanbeyan 16.12-108

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Smith 4, Walters 2, Griffin 2, Zochling 2, Rogers 1, Wingate 1, Durnan 1, Porta 1, C Smith 1

Best: Muir, Durnan, A Bishop, S Smith, Hannam, Porta, Walters


Ainslie defeated Eastlake in the Preliminary Final to set up a rematch with Queanbeyan in the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 15.13-103 def Eastlake 9.10-64

Goal kickers for Ainslie: S Smith 4, A Bishop 3, Wingate 2, Baxter 1, Rogers 1, Sinclair 1, Zochling 1, Richardson 1, C Smith 1

Best: A Bishop, Richardson, Wingate, Muir, Porta, McTaggart


Ainslie played Queanbeyan in the Grand Final. It was Ainslie’s 10th appearance in a Grand Final in the last 11 years, winning 6. However Ainslie could not reverse the Semi-Final result and went down to Queanbeyan by 19 points.

Final score: Ainslie 10.15-75 def by Queanbeyan 14.10-94

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Smith 3, Wingate 2, Rogers 1, Richardson 1, C Smith 1, Telford 1, Bishop 1

Best: Porta, C Smith, Muir, Durnan, Hannam, Richardson


The Ainslie Grand Final team was chosen from:

Brent Walters, Robbie Baxter, Wayne Rogers, Mark Sinclair, Gerard Zochling, Maurice Wingate, Brett Hannam, Stephen Smith, Mark Killer, Russel Durnan, Peter Brown, Michael Richardson, Michael Porta, Ian Muir, Craig Smith, Peter Telford, Robert McTaggart, Shaun Wornes, Greg Bishop, Andrew Bishop, Shane Griffin

Steve Smith was the Club’s leading goal kicker with 71 goals.


Ainslie won the C W Chandler Club Championship as the Best Performed Club.


Ainslie had seven players selected in the ACT Representative team that played in the Bi-Centennial Carnival in Adelaide. They were R Durnan, A Bishop, B Hannam, M Killer, W Rogers, M Richardson and A Tutt.



Ainslie President David Lalor accepts the C W Chandler Trophy as the Best Performed Club from ACTAFL President Bill Mahoney

1988 Ainslie Second Grade Team

Ainslie Second Grade finished the home and away games in top position on the ladder with 15 wins and 4 losses.


Ainslie had a good win over Manuka-Weston in the Second Semi-Final.

Final Score: Ainslie 20.12-132 def Manuka-Weston 9.12-66

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Kelty 6, Michael Conway 2, Mohrwinkel 2, Scholes 2, Trebilcock 2, Tutt 2, Adams 1, Collins 1, Finkelde 1, Lond 1

Best: Mohrwinkel, Finkelde, Matt Conway, Scholes, Tutt


Ainslie met Manuka-Weston in the Grand Final and after being defeated by 11 goals in the Semi-Final Manuka-Weston reversed the result and defeated Ainslie.

Final score: Ainslie 6.8-44 def by Manuka Weston 9.11-65

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Finkelde 3, Collins 1, Scholes 1, Tutt 1

Best: Seymour, Hincksman, Finkelde, Scholes, Birch, Van Dijk


Wayne Kelty was the leading goal kicker for the Club in Second Grade with 77 goals.


Dale Seymour played his 100th Second Grade game during the season.

1988 Ainslie Under 19 Team

Ainslie under 19s finished the home and away games in fourth position with 9 wins and 10 losses.


Ainslie won the First Semi-Final against Belconnen by 4 points.

Final score: Ainslie 8.11-59 def Belconnen 8.7-55

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Mohrwinkel 3, Smith 2, Burgess 1, Conway 1, Woodland 1

Best: Mohrwinkel, Thompson, Trebilcock, Palmer


In the Preliminary Final they defeated Manuka-Weston by 23 points.

Final score: Ainslie 11.10-76 def Manuka Weston 5.8-38

Goal kickers for Ainslie: C Smith 3, M Conway 2, Trebilcock 2, Berry 1, Mohrwinkel 1, Palmer 1, Schmidt 1

Best: Mohrwinkel, Thompson, Conway, Smith, Trebilcock


The Ainslie U19s were defeated by Eastlake in the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 5.4-34 def by Eastlake 11.14-80

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Smeaton 3, Woodland 1, Mohrwinkel 1

Best: Mohrwinkel, Busfield, Conway, Gibson, Smeaton


Matthew Conway won the League’s Best & Fairest award for the U19s, the T A Wharton Trophy.


Coach: Robert Anderson

1988 Ainslie Monaro Team

The Ainslie Monaro team lost the Fist Semi-Final to CCAE to finish in fourth place.


Coach: Stephen Vickers

1988 Ainslie Under 17 Team

Ainslie Under 17s finished in fifth place, missing out on the finals.


Coach: Geoff Pight

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Russel Durnan

Runner Up B&F: Andrew Bishop

Most Consistent: Michael Porta

Most Improved: Gerard Zochling

Coach’s Award: Ian Muir


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Malcolm Scholes

Runner Up B&F: Paul Finkelde

Most Consistent: Ross Hincksman

Most Improved: Michael Collins

Coach’s Award: Dale Seymour

Manager’s Award: Aaron Adams


Under 19

Best & Fairest: Matthew Conway

Runner Up B&F: Shane Trebilcock

Most Consistent: Scott Gibson

Most Improved: Paul Thompson

Courage Award: Mark Devenish

Coach’s Award: Richard Baumhammer


Under 17

Best & Fairest: Jeffrey Kaye

Runner Up B&F: Stephen Busfield

Most Consistent: Christian Roberts

Most Improved: Stephen Barr



Best & Fairest: Paul Birzenieks

Runner Up B&F: Mark Jeffcott

Most Consistent: Peter Gibbs

Most Improved: Trent Bourne

Goal Kicking Award: Paul Birzenieks


Most Prominent Clubman: John Williams

Jaws Award: Mark Killer

Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Robbie Baxter

Baitz Liquor Award for Best First Year Player: Robert McTaggart

Club Officials


President: David Lalor

Senior Vice-President: Don Andrews

Secretary: Noel McCormack

Ass. Secretary: Andrew McGrath

Treasurer: Karl Blundell

Committee: S Richardson, K Stone, K Duncan, B Garrett, B Glossop, John Rebcca, Ian Kirkpatrick, R Smith, K Grace, J Miller, M Smith, G Croser, D Eddowes, Billy Bishop, Brian Palmer


© 2015 by Ainslie Football