1987 Ainslie First Grade Premiership Team

The 1987 ACTAFL Competition consisted of six teams, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka Weston, Queanbeyan and Tuggeranong.


In 1987 the Club celebrated its 60th Anniversary and were very successful winning three Premierships.


In First Grade Ainslie finished the home and away in third place with just 7 wins compared to the top side Queanbeyan with 14 wins.

Ainslie defeated Tuggeranong in the First Semi-Final. Ainslie were down 4 goals at half time but kicked 7 to 3 in the second half to win by 4 points.
Final score: Ainslie 11.17-83 def Tuggeranong 12.7-79

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Tutt 3, Walters 2, Smith, Miller, Richardson, Marshall, A Bishop, H Muir

Best: Richardson, Wingate, A Bishop, A Tutt, Hannam, Porta


In the Preliminary Final Ainslie defeated Manuka-Weston to go through to its ninth Grand Final in the past ten years.

Final score: Ainslie 10.11-71 def Manuka-Weston 6.15-51

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Miller 4, Durnan 2, Walters 1, Smith 1, Wingate 1, Wornes 1

Best: Wingate, Richardson, Miller, Hannam, Tutt, Killer


Ainslie played flag favourites Queanbeyan in the Grand Final at Football Park, Phillip and ended up winning by 54 points to win the Premiership. It was their first victory over Queanbeyan for the season.

Final score: Ainslie 21.9-135 def Queanbeyan 11.15-81

Goal kickers for Ainslie: A Tutt 4, Durnan 3, Smith 3, Miller 3, Walters 2, Wingate 2, Bishop 2, Rogers, Wornes

Best: Killer, Durnan, A Bishop, A Tutt, Richardson, Porta


The 1987 Grand Final team was:

Russel Durnan (Capt./Coach), Brett Hannam, Andrew Bishop, Wayne Rogers, Robbie Baxter, Alan Tutt, Michael Richardson, Maurice Wingate, Brent Walters, Mark Sinclair, Stephen Smith, Mark Killer, Ross Hincksman, Gerard Zochling, Gordon Marshall, Geoff Miller, Shaun Wornes, Michael Porta, Hadyn Muir, Peter Foley


The Alex Jesaulenko Award for the Best Player in the Grand Final was shared by two Ainslie players, Russel Durnan and Mark Killer.


The Club’s leading goal kicker for 1987 was Stephen Smith with 41 goals.


Robbie Baxter, Brett Hannam and Gordon Marshall played their 100th First Grade games for Ainslie.


Captain/Coach: Russel Durnan

1987 Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

Ainslie defeated Manuka-Weston in the Second Semi-Final to advance through to the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 15.14-104 def Manuka-Weston 11.10-76

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Condon 3, Stockwell 3, Lond 2, Seymour 2, Collins 1, Conway 1, Finkelde 1, Griffin 1, Telford 1

Best: Brown, Condon, Endal, Wilks, Kelly


Second Grade met Manuka-Weston again in the Grand Final and had a good win by 65 points to win the Premiership.

Final score: Ainslie 18.21-129 def Manuka Weston 8.16-64

Goal kickers for Ainslie: S Condon 6, W Kelty 4, S Griffin 2, Kelly, Brown, Conway, Mooney, Endal, Finkelde

Best: Condon, Wilkes, Kelly, Brown, Conway


Coach: Terry Mooney

1987 Ainslie Under 19 Team

Ainslie defeated Belconnen in the Under 19 First Semi-Final.

Final score: Ainslie 8.16-64 def Belconnen 5.10-40

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Berry 3, Thompson 1, Schow 1, Trebilcock 1, Walters 1, Dollimore 1


The U19s were defeated in the Preliminary Final by Manuka Weston to finish in third place.

Final score: Ainslie 9.9-63 def by Manuka Weston 11.12-78


Coach: Ron Eskrigge


1987 Ainslie Monaro Team

Ainslie Monaro only had one loss in the home and away games finishing as Minor Premiers.


Ainslie lost to Harman in the Second Semi-Final.

Final score: Ainslie 14.9-93 def by Harman 15.20-110


They defeated CCAE in the Preliminary Final by a large margin to set up a replay with Harman in the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 16.18-174 def CCAE 13.14-92


Ainslie won the Grand Final over Harman by 84 points to win the Premiership.

Final score: Ainslie 23.18-156 def Harman 10.12-72

Major goal kickers for Ainslie: Browne 5, Van Dijk 4, Scholes 3

Best: Browne, Cantlon, Michel, Vickers, Jeffcott


Captain/Coach Malcolm Scholes won the Monaro League Best & Fairest, the Warren Tansley Medal.

Greg Brown won the award for the Best Player in the Final Series.


Kim Van Dijk was runner up in the Monaro goal kicking with 78 goals.

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Andrew Bishop

Runner Up B&F: Michael Richardson

Most Consistent: Maurice Wingate

Most Improved: Michael Porta


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: William McBride

Runner Up B&F: Michael Conway

Most Consistent: Stephen Duffy

Most Improved: Paul Finkelde


Under 19

Best & Fairest: Michael Schow

Runner Up B&F: Chris Mohrwinkel

Most Consistent: Scott Gibson

Most Improved: John Lawson


Under 17

Best & Fairest: Jeff Mohrwinkel

Runner Up B&F: Robert McTaggart

Most Consistent: Linus Devenish

Most Improved: Richard Baumhammer



Best & Fairest: Andrew Michel

Runner Up B&F: Greg Brown

Most Consistent: Jeff Garrett

Most Improved: Mark Jeffcott


Most Prominent Clubman: John Rebecca

Jaws Award: Tony Ielasi

Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Gerard Zochling

Baitz Liquors Award: Mark Sinclair



Club Officials


President: Keith Heales

Senior Vice President: David Lalor

Vice Presidents: R Smith, Kevin Grace, Don Andrews

Secretary: Noel McCormack

Ass.Secretary: Andrew McGrath

Treasurer: Karl Blundell

Committee: J Brock, Bruce Glossop, D Eddowes, J Miller, Brett Muir, Brian Palmer, Jack McGrath, John Rebecca, S Richardson, Ian Kirkpatrick, K Stone, W Harvey, R Bink.



© 2015 by Ainslie Football