1986 Ainslie First Grade Team

The 1986 ACTAFL Competition consisted of six teams, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka Weston, Queanbeyan and Tuggeranong.


Ainslie First Grade won 8 games and lost 9 fishing in third place after the home and away games. Ainslie played Eastlake in the First Semi-Final at Football Park, Phillip and had not beaten them during the season in four games. A more aggressive Ainslie opened up a 16 point lead at half time going on to win by 36 points.

Final score: Ainslie 12.16-88 def Eastlake 7.10-52
Goal kickers for Ainslie: M Killer 5, Smith 2, Ielasi 1, Cook 1, McCormick 1, Hensell 1, Monaghan 1

Best: M Richardson, Cook, Killer, Ielasi, Hamilton, Rogers,


In the Preliminary Final Ainslie lost to Tuggeranong.

Final score: Ainslie 9.13-67 def by Tuggeranong 17.15-117

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Rogers 2, Miller 2, Killer 1, Smith 1, Tutt 1, A Bishop 1, Endal 1

Best: Cook, A Bishop, Hamilton, Rogers, Smith, Richardson


Tuggeranong defeated Queanbeyan in the Grand Final, 8.11-59 to 8.10-58, to win their first Premiership.



Peter Hamilton won the 1986 League Best & Fairest Award, the Mulrooney Medal, finishing 11 votes ahead of second place.


Craig Smith played his 100th First Grade game in 1986.


G Miller was the leading goal kicker for the Club with 41 goals.


Ainslie won the Sterling Club Championship for the Best Performed Club.


Ainslie players that represented the ACT in 1986 were: Andrew Bishop, Peter Hamilton, Mark Killer, G Miller, Wayne Rogers, Shaun Smith and Alan Tutt.


Captain/Coach: Brian Cook

Peter Hamilton

Three Ainslie players doing a lap of honour at the ACTAFL Grand Final. From left: Gerard Zochling – All Australian U16 Schoolboy, Shaun Smith – All Australian U17 and Peter Hamilton – Mulrooney Medallist.

1986 Ainslie Second Grade Team

Ainslie Second Grade finished the home and away games in third place with 12 wins and 7 losses.


Ainslie Second Grade were defeated by Belconnen in the First Semi-Final to finish in fourth place.

Final score: Ainslie 13.13-91 def by Belconnen 18.9-117
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Kelty 4, Wilkes 3, Wilson 2, Tutt 2, Porta 1, Lond 1



Patrick Palmer played his 150th Second Grade game.

1986 Ainslie Under 19 Team

Ainslie Under 19s finished as Minor Premiers winning 17 games and losing only 1 but did not win a final to finish in third place.


In the Second Semi-Final Ainslie were defeated by Manuka-Weston.

Final score: Ainslie 10.9-69 def by Manuka-Weston 15.13-103
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Sinclair 2, Kelly 2, Gibson 2, Birzenieks 2, Corkill 1, Dollimore 1

Best: Duffy, Kelly, Gibson, Delorenzo, Conway, Warnes


In the Preliminary Final Ainslie were defeated by Belconnen by 4 points.

Goal Kickers for Ainslie: Corkill 2, Simpson 2, Kelly 1, Conway 1

Best: Sinclair, Wilton, Warnes, Brekalo, Simsons


Salvo Delorenzo was Runner up in the Leagues’ Under 19 Grade Best & Fairest, the T A Wharton Trophy.


Coach: Ralph Rendell

1986 Ainslie Monaro Team

The Monaro team played in the First Division and finished the home and away games in fourth place. They played CCAE in the First Semi-Final but went down by 22 points.

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Peter Hamilton

Runner Up B&F: Brian Cook

Most Consistent: Shaun Smith

Most Improved: Michael Richardson


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Peter Brown

Runner Up B&F: Ross Hincksman

Most Consistent: Trevor Lond

Most Improved: Andrew Jolliffe


Under 19

Best & Fairest: Michael Conway

Runner Up B&F: Greg Simsons

Most Consistent: Salvo Delorenzo

Most Improved: Robert Kelly


Under 17

Best & Fairest: Gerard Zochling

Runner Up B&F: Scott Gibson

Most Consistent: Jeff Mohrwinkel

Most Improved: Michael White



Best & Fairest: Phil Hargraves

Runner Up B&F: Mark Scholes

Most Consistent: Stephen Vickers

Most Improved: Mark Jeffcott


Most Prominent Clubman: Martin Smith

Les Smith Award: Scott Gibson

Jaws Award: Clare Palmer

Richard Fleming Memorial Award: Neville Hensel

Baitz Liquors Award: Greg Bishop

Club Officials


President: Keith Heales

Senior Vice-President: David Lalor

Vice Presidents: Brian Palmer, Kevin Grace, W Harvey

Secretary: Noel McCormack

Ass.Secretary: Brett Muir

Treasurer: Karl Blundell

Committee: G Allen, R Bink, Ian Kirkpatrick, Andrew McGrath, R Heidke, John Rebecca, S Richardson, Lionel James, Jack McGrath, R Smith, R Watkins, Les Smith


Patrons: Harry Gaylard, Senator D Jessop, Senator M Townley


© 2015 by Ainslie Football