1980 Ainslie First Grade Championship Team

There were 7 teams in the 1980 ACTAFL competition, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan, Sutherland and West Canberra.


At the end of the home and away games Ainslie was on top of the table with 16 wins and no losses and a percentage of 254.


They played second team West Canberra in the Second Semi-Final at Phillip Oval. Ainslie ran out easy winners by 98 points.
Final score: Ainslie 23.18-156 def West Canberra 8.10-58
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Miller 7, McCormick 4, Neale 3, Mooney 2, Senjov 2, Brock 1, Davey 1, Shanley 1, C Smith 1, Gerrans 1
Best: McCormick, Miller, Neeson, Ielasi, Heystraten


Ainslie won the 1980 Premiership by defeating Manuka 21.10-136 to 12.15-87 in the Grand Final at Manuka Oval. Ainslie went through the season undefeated to be awarded their third Championship.
Final score: Ainslie 21.10-136 def Manuka 12.15-87
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Neale 8, Brock 5, McCormick 4, Shanley 2, Davey 1, Senjov 1
Best: Stone, Brock, Neale, Gerrans, McCormick,


Ken Stone won the inaugural Alex Jesaulenko Trophy for the best player in the Grand Final.


The Ainslie Team for the Grand Final was:
Backs: Tony Ielasi, Greg Croser, Martin Smith
Half Backs: Alan Smith, Brett Hannam, Peter Neeson
Centres: Brian Holford, Ken Stone, Ron Davey
Half Forwards: Terry Mooney, John Miller, Brendan Shanley
Forwards: John Brock, Kevin Neale, Mick Senjov
Rucks: Hans Heystraten, Phil Gerrans, Jack McCormick
Interchange from: David Monaghan, Craig Smith, John Harper


 Ainslie Coach Kevin Neale was the League's leading goal kicker with a record total of 149 goals, including 8 in the Grand Final.

John Miller won the ACTAFL Best & Fairest the Mulrooney Medal.

Ainslie Captain-Coach Kevin Neale holding up the 1980 Premiership Cup


Captain/Coach: Kevin Neale
Vice Captain: Martin Smith

1980 Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

Ainslie Second Grade finished the Home and Away games in second position behind Eastlake.


Ainslie played Eastlake in the Second Semi-Final and won by 21 points.
Final score: Ainslie 16.15-111 def Eastlake 13.12-90


Ainslie Second Grade defeated Eastlake in the Grand Final to win their tenth Grand Final in the past 14 years.

Final score: Ainslie 12.15-87 def Eastlake 7.11-53
Goal Kickers for Ainslie: Walsh 4, Tutt 3, Anderson 2, Seymour 1, Palmer 1, Marshall 1
Best: Tutt, Anderson, Marshall, Seymour, Palmer


Mick Walsh won the Second Grade Best & Fairest the McNamara Trophy and also the Second Grade leading goal kicker with 131 goals.


Captain/Coach: Graham Read

1980 Ainslie Under 19 Grade Team

Ainslie U19s finished the home and away season in second place behind Eastlake.


Ainslie played Eastlake in the Second Semi Final but lost by 2 points.
Final score: Ainslie 12.11-83 def by Eastlake 12.13-85


Ainslie defeated Weston Creek in the Preliminary Final.
Final score: Ainslie 11.14-80 def Weston Creek 10.10-70


Ainslie played Eastlake in the Grand Final but were defeated by 52 points at Phillip Oval.
Final score: Ainslie 7.11-53 def by Eastlake 15.15-105
Goal kickers for Ainslie: G Hincksman 4, Hawke 2, Baxter 1
Best: Hawke, Baxter, Birch, G Hincksman


Coach: David Lalor

1980 Ainslie Monaro Team

The Monaro team finished out of the top four.


Captain/Coach: Laurie Laffan
Manager: Gil Allen

Club Awards


First Grade
Best & Fairest: Brett Hannam
Runner-up B&F: Terry Mooney
Most Consistent: Kevin Neale
Most Improved: Tony Ielasi
Best First Year Player: David Monaghan
Best Player in the Finals: Jack McCormick
Most Serviceable Player in the Grand Final: John Bock


Second Grade
Best & Fairest: Gordon Marshall
Runner-up B&F: P O’Loughlin
Most Consistent: Mick Walsh
Most Improved: P Foley


Under 19
Best & Fairest: Robbie Baxter
Runner-up B&F: Robert Birch
Most Consistent: Dale Seymour
Most Improved: Wayne Kelty
Best Player in the Finals: Robert Birch


Best & Fairest: Laurie Laffan
Runner-up B&F: R Kirby
Most Consistent: S Morgan
Best Team Man: Graham Vickers

Best Clubman: Peter McNair

Club Officials


President: Keith Heales
Senior Vice President: Jack McGrath
Vice Presidents: John Bravo, Robert McCorry, Tom Talsma
Hon Secretary: Arthur Bennett
Ass Secretary: Greg Ryan
Treasurer: Alan Ray
Committee: Don Andrews, D Eddowes, R Garrett, Bruce Glossop, Roy Hancock, D McIntyre, Peter McNair, Larry Rawson, G Rogers, K Slattery, Les Smith, A White, G Harwood, Ian Mulholland


Patrons: Ralph Lewis, Harry Gaylard


© 2015 by Ainslie Football