1979 Ainslie First Grade Premiership Team

The ACTAFL Competition consisted of 7 teams in 1979, Ainslie, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan, Sutherland and West Canberra.


Ainslie finished the home and away games on top of the ladder on percentage from Belconnen with both teams having 16 wins and 4 losses.


Ainslie played Belconnen in the Second Semi-Final at Phillip Oval. Belconnen were too good for Ainslie running out winners by 37 points.
Final score: Ainslie 10.7-67 def by Belconnen 14.20-104
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Brock 3, Davey 3, Grandin 3, McCormick 1
Best: Hannam, Charles Smith, Bellchambers, McCormick, Gerrans


Ainslie played Manuka in the Preliminary Final.
Final score: Ainslie 15.13-103 def Manuka 12.10-82
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Neale 4, Davey 3, Shanley 3, Neeson 1, Charlie Smith 1, Stone 1, Holford 1, A Tutt 1
Best: Shanley, Turner, Neale, Gerrans, Neeson


Ainslie met Belconnen again in the Grand Final at Manuka Oval. Ainslie won by 46 points.
Final score: Ainslie 17.18-120 def Belconnen 11.8-74
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Neale 5, Rafferty 2, Shanley 2, Holford 2, A Tutt 2, Neeson 1, McCormick 1, Stone 1, Craig Smith 1
Best: Brock, Charles Smith, M Smith, Stone, Turner, Neale


The team for the Grand Final was:
Backs: Ielasi, Gerrans, Charles Smith
Half Backs: Turner, Hannam, Miller
Centres: Holford, Bellchambers, Phillips
Half Forwards: Stone, Davey, Shanley
Forwards: Neeson, Neale, A Tutt
Rucks: Brock, Rafferty, McCormick
Interchange: M Smith, Craig Smith


Captain Coach: Kevin Neale
Vice Captain: Charles Smith
Manager: Les Smith


Ainslie won the Club Championship.

1979 Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

The Ainslie Second Grade finished the home and away on top of the ladder with 19 wins and 2 losses.


Ainslie played Belconnen in the Second Semi-Final but were beaten by 26 points.
Final score: Ainslie 12.9-81 def by Belconnen 15.17-107
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Davidson 4, Ellis 3, O’Loughlin 1, Monaghan 1, Harper 1, Muir 1, Triffett 1
Best: Holford, Cliff, O’Donnell. G Read, Anderson


Ainslie defeated Eastlake in the Preliminary Final.
Final score: Ainslie 21.15-141 def Eastlake 7.15-57
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Grandin 9, Monaghan 3, Harper 2, G Read 1, O’Loughlin 1, Oates 1, Downes 1, Muir 1, Sherd 1, Anderson 1
Best: Triffett, R Tutt, Grandin, Rebecca, O’Loughlin


Ainslie played Belconnen in the Grand Final and ran out winners by 21 points.
Final score: Ainslie 19.7-121 def Belconnen 14.16-100
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Grandin 5, Muir 4, G Read 2, Downes 2, Harper 2, Cliff 1, Monaghan 1, Oates 1, Anderson 1
Best: Ellis, Muir, G Read, Harper, Oates, Cliff


Captain/Coach: Graham Read
Vice Captain: G Oates
Managers: Jason Brown, Barry Norbury

1979 Ainslie Under 19 Team

The Ainslie U19 team finished the home and away in second position behind Eastlake.


Ainslie were defeated in the Second Semi-Final by Eastlake.
Final score: Ainslie 11.10-76 def by Eastlake 13.10-88
Goal kickers for Ainslie: A Hincksman 4, Seymour 3, Baxter 1, Maher 1, Hawke 1, Lawless 1
Best: Orr, Birznieks, Kemp, Edwards, Pight


The U19s lost the Preliminary Final to Manuka.
Final score: Ainslie 6.14-50 def by Manuka 14.12-96
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Stanfield 3, Seymour 2, Hincksman 1
Best: Moon, Lawless, Cowie, A Orr, G Kemp


Coach: Ralph Rendell
Captain: R Hincksman, Vice Captain: G Lawless
Managers: Don Cowie, Roy Sargeant

1979 Ainslie Monaro League Team

The Ainslie Monaro League team finished the home and away in fifth place.


Monaro had a top 5 and Ainslie played in the Elimination Final against St Edmunds. Ainslie had a win by 17 points.
Final score: Ainslie 10.16-76 def St Edmunds 8.11-59.


Ainslie played Tuggeranong in the minor Semi-Final but were defeated by 19 points to finish in fourth place.
Final score: Ainslie 8.12-60 def by Tuggeranong 11.13-79


Captain/Coach: Laurie Laffan
Vice Captain: S Smith
Manager: Graham Bonnett

Club Awards


First Grade
Best & Fairest: Jack McCormick
Runner-up B&F: Kevin Neale
Most Consistent: A Turner
Most Improved: Brett Hannam
Best Player in the Finals: Charles Smith


Second Grade
Best & Fairest: Paul O’Loughlin
Runner-up B&F: Haydn Muir
Most Consistent: R Anderson
Most Improved: Barry Dobson


Best & Fairest: Gordon Marshall
Runner-up B&F: R Hincksman
Most Consistent: Robbie Baxter
Most Improved: G Kemp


Best & Fairest: S Smith
Runner-up B&F: L Milborn
Most Consistent: F Chester
Most Improved: J Birch


Clubman: Robert McCorry

Club Officials


President: Keith Heales
Senior Vice President: Jack McGrath
Vice Presidents: M Smith, Tony White, D Scullin, Peter Tormey
Hon Secretary: Arthur Bennett
Ass Secretary: G Ryan
Treasurer: Alan Ray
Committee: Laurie Laffan, Don Andrews, John Bravo, J Brown, R Garrett, Larry Rawson, Roy Hancock, Peter Tormey, Robert McCorry, G Rogers, K Slattery

Patrons: Ralph Lewis , Harry Gaylard


© 2015 by Ainslie Football