1976 Ainslie First Grade Team

The ACTAFL Competition had 8 teams in the 1976 competition, Ainslie, ANU, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan, RMC and West Canberra.


The top five teams played in the Finals with top side Manuka having the first week off.

Ainslie after losing the last game of the home and away slipped to third place and played Eastlake in the Qualifying Final at Jamieson Oval.
Final score: Ainslie 12.11-83 def by Eastlake 25.22-172

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Martin Smith 7, Ryan 2, Bellchambers 1, Cox 1, Batchelor 1
Best: Martin Smith, Bellchambers, Ryan, Hamilton, Charles Smith


Ainslie defeated Queanbeyan in the First Semi-Final to advance to the Preliminary Final after trailing by 16 points at three quarter time and kicking 8 goals in the last quarter.

Final score: Ainslie 13.13-91 def Queanbeyan 9.10-64

Goal; kickers for Ainslie: Martin Smith 4, Howard 3, T Ryan 2, Andrews 1, Johnson 1, Norval, Jeffries

Best: Jeffries, Johnson, Whyte, Fort, Hamilton


Ainslie came up against Eastlake in the Preliminary Final and were defeated by 45 points to finish the season in third place.

Final score: Ainslie 11.9-75 def by Eastlake 17.18-120

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Ryan 3, Jeffries 2, Martin Smith 2, Howard 1, Fort 1, Bellchambers 1

Best: Jeffries, Cox, Howard, Hamilton, Ford, T Ryan


Martin Smith won the League Goal-kicking award with 84 goals.


Eastlake defeated Manuka to win the 1976 Premiership.


Ainslie won the Club Championship Award.


Coach: Kevin Hassett
Captain: Garry Cox, V.Capt.: Charles Smith

Manager: Gordon Adcock

1976 Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

The Ainslie Second Grade finished the home and away on top of the ladder with 15 wins.


They played Eastlake in the Second Semi-Final and advanced through to the Grand Final with a 35 point win.

Final score: Ainslie 15.24-114 def Eastlake 11.13-79

Goal kickers for Ainslie: S Smith 4, Moulakis 3, Forsyth 2, Batchelor 2, McMillan 2, G Read 1, R Sherd 1

Best: G Read, McMillan, S Smith


After a slow start Ainslie dominated Eastlake in the Second Grade Grand Final to win by 74 points.
Final score: Ainslie 24.16-160 def Eastlake 13.8-86
Ken Wark kicked 4 goals and the best were Rod McMillan and Keith Johnson

The Ainslie Second Grade won their fourth Premiership in the last five years, winning in 1972, 1973, 1975 and 1976.

Coach: Brian Read
Captain: Laurie Laffan, V.Capt.: Graham Read
Manager: Graham Carey

Under 19


The Ainslie Under 19 team finished on top after the home and away games with 16 wins.

Ainslie were defeated by Manuka in the Second Semi-Final.
Final score: Ainslie 7.10-52 def by Manuka 9.7-61
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Smith 2, Portway 2, Triffett 1, Thorneycroft 1, O’Loughlin 1
Best: Andrews, M Smith, Ielasi


In the Preliminary Final Ainslie defeated Eastlake to move into the Grand Final against Manuka.
Final score: Ainslie 13.14-92 def Eastlake 12.7-79
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Triffett 6, Hannam 3, O’Loughlin 1, James 1, Portway 1, Ielasi 1
Best: Hannam, Triffett, Reilly, Phillips


Ainslie U19s were defeated in the Grand Final by Manuka.

Final score: Ainslie 7.8-50 def by Manuka 11.10-76

Paul O’Loughlin kicked 3 goals and Best was Noel Reilly.


Ainslie’s Mark Smith won the League Best & Fairest in the Under 19 Grade.


Coach: Bob McCorry

Captain: R Phillips

Manager: Larry Rawson


Monaro League


Ainslie finished the home and away in third place with 14 wins.


Ainslie played CCAE in the Qualifying Final. CCAE defeated Ainslie by 15 points.
Final score: Ainslie 9.7-61 def by CCAE 11.10-76

Ainslie played Services in the First Semi-Final and went down by 1 point to finish the season in fourth place.
Final score: Ainslie 8.16-64 def by Services 9.11-65
Best: Greg Weir, Kevin Robinson, Leas Garth, Stewart Morgan


Coach: J Truesdale

Captain: R O’Rourke
Managers: Les Smith and Gordon Truesdale

Club Awards


First Grade
Best & Fairest: R Hamilton, B Fort (Tie)
Runner Up B&F: -
Most Consistent: S Jeffries
Most Improved: R Whyte


Second Grade
Best & Fairest: S Smith
Runner Up B&F: Graham Read
Most Consistent: Keith Johnson
Most Improved: Vince O’Donnell


Under 19
Best & Fairest: M Smith
Runner Up B&F: Tony Ielasi
Most Consistent: B Durbridge
Most Improved: M Rutzou


Best & Fairest: B Huntingford
Runner Up B&F: R Saunders
Most Consistent: R Law
Most Improved: S Morga

Club Officials

President: Keith Heales
Senior Vice President: Bruce Glossop
Vice Presidents: Jack McGrath, John Bravo, B Read, Barry Kershaw, Alan Ray
Secretary: Don Andrews
Ass. Secretary: T Stewart
Treasuer: J Shanley
Committee: John Bravo, F Cornell, J Cusack, K Howard, Robert McCorry, N Neeson, K Redmond, Les Smith. B Thorneycroft, Peter Tormey, Peter Poke, B Ryan, D Scullin, Tony White


Patrons: Ralph Lewis, R W Chew


© 2015 by Ainslie Football