1974 Ainslie First Grade Team

There were 8 teams in the 1974 ACTAFL Competition, Ainslie, ANU, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan, RMC and West Canberra.


Ainslie finished in third place after the home and away games behind Manuka and Eastlake with 10 wins, 5 losses and a draw. Due to the final five Ainslie played Eastlake in the qualifying final.


Ainslie were defeated by Eastlake in the Qualifying Final.

Final score: Ainslie 8.6-54 def by Eastlake 16.16-112

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Harrold 3, Cox 2, Rendell 1, O’Neill 1, Sheedy 1

Best O’Neill, Whiteway, Fort, Hassett


Ainslie were defeated by ANU in the First Semi-Final to finish in fourth place.

Final score: Ainslie 11.14-80 def by ANU 17.9-111

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Sheedy 3, M Smith 3, Johnson 2, Shanley 2, Whyte 1

Best: Hassett, Johnson, C Smith, Fort, O’Neill


Manuka won the Premiership by defeating Eastlake by 34 points.


Garry Cox was third in the Mulrooney Medal count.


Kevin Hassett played his 150th game, Laurie Laffan, Bernie Ryan and Graham Gardiner played their 100th games during the season.


Ainslie players who represented the ACT in 1974 were J Jillard, R Rendell, C Smith, G Cox, B Read and N Gregory.


Coach: John Jillard

Ass.Coach: Garry Cox

Managers: John Bravo, John McGrath

1974 Ainslie Second Grade Team

Ainslie finished in second place on the Second Grade table after the home and away games with 12 wins and 4 losses.


Ainslie Second Grade were defeated by Manuka in the Qualifying Final.

Final score: Ainslie 12.11-83 def by Manuka 20.12-132

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Outhwaite 3, Moullakis 3, Wark 2, Hardy 1, Lancaster 1, McConville 1, Saunders 1

Best: Outhwaite, Fusinato, Gardiner, Batchelor


Ainslie were eliminated in the First Semi-Final against Eastlake to finish in fourth place.

Final score: Ainslie 5.21-51 def by Eastlake 10.9-69

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Outhwaite 2, Tormey 2, Laffan 1

Best: Brown, Ryan, Outhwaite, Fusinato, Laffan



Ian McDonald won the J McNamara Medal for the Best & Fairest in the Second Grade.


Coach: R Gowing

Manager: G Adcock



The Ainslie Monaro team finished in second place after the home and away games.


Ainslie played South Woden in the Second Semi-Final but were defeated by 33 points.

Final score: Ainslie 9.8-62 def by South Woden 14.11-95


Ainslie were defeated in the Preliminary Final by CCAE to finish in third place.

Final score: Ainslie 15.7-97 def by CCAE 18.21-129

Best: Talikka, Wilson, Stewart, McCormack, O’Rourke


Coach: J Truesdale

Manager: T Moore, G Truesdale


Under Age


The Under 17 team played in the Grand Final against St Edmonds but were defeated.

Final score: Ainslie 9.8-62 def by St Edmonds 14.9-103

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Barry Fort

Runner Up B&F: Garry Cox

Most Consistent: Rod Whiteway

Most Improved: Noel O’Neill


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: John Outhwaite

Runner Up B&F: Geoff Henry

Most Consistent: D McKellar

Most Improved: Ian McDonald



Best & Fairest: J Talikka

Runner Up B&F: G McCormack

Most Consistent: P Talintyre

Best First Year Player: J Spotswood


Under 19

Best & Fairest: L Forsyth

Runner Up B&F: P Smith

Third: S Winbourne

Fourth: B Huntingford

Don Robertson Memorial Trophy: L Forsyth


Under 17

Best & Fairest: P Neeson

Runner Up B&F: D Portway

Most Consistent: A Tutt

Most Versatile: A Ross



Club Officials


President: Alan Ray

Senior Vice President: W Smith

Vice Presidents: Lionel James, Keith Heales, Norm Neeson

Secretary: R Venables

Ass. Secretary: B Ryan

Treasurer: Barry Browning

Committee: John Bravo, P Clynes, J Cusack, G Harwood, Bruce Glossop, R Gowing, Jack McGrath, B Norbury, A Rendell, P Searle, B Thorneycroft, E Turner


Patrons: Ralph Lewis, R W Chew


© 2015 by Ainslie Football