1973 Ainslie First Grade Team

There were 8 teams in the 1973 ACTAFL Competition, Acton, Ainslie, ANU, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan and RMC.


Ainslie finished as Minor Premiers after the home and away games ahead of Eastlake on percentage after defeating them in the last round. Both teams had 14 wins and 3 losses.


Ainslie played Manuka in the Second Semi Final after Manuka defeated Eastlake in the Qualifying Final. Ainslie won by 9 goals to go through to the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 15.15-105 def Manuka 6.15-51

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Walsh 6, M Smith 3, A Bongetti 3, Harrold 2, Cusack 1

Best: Walsh, Jillard, Rendell, Mathews, Whiteway


The Grand Final between Ainslie and Manuka at Manuka Oval was a thrilling game with Manuka winning by 1 point. Manuka had a lead of 23 points at three quarter time and Ainslie with only 16 fit players kicked the last 4 goals of the game but ran out of time.

Final score: Ainslie 15.7-97 def by Manuka 14.14-98

Alan Bongetti kicked 9 goals. Best were Bongetti, Harrold, Kevin Hassett


Alan Bongetti was the Club’s leading goalkicker with 78 goals.


Ralph Rendell won the 1973 Mulrooney Medal the League’s Best & Fairest award.


Ainslie won the L J Hooker Shield for the Best performed Club in 1973. This was the fifth time Ainslie had won it since its introduction in 1964.


Captain/Coach: John Jillard

Ass.Coach/ Vice Captain: Garry Cox

Ralph Rendell - 1973 Mulrooney Medallist

1973 Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

Ainslie Second Grade finished on top of the ladder after being undefeated through the home and away games with 17 wins.


In the Second Semi-Final the Ainslie Second Grade suffered its first loss of the season going down to Manuka by 11 points.

Final score: Ainslie 8.16-64 def by Manuka 11.9-75


Ainslie defeated Eastlake in the Preliminary Final.
Final score: Ainslie 12.14-86 def Eastlake 7.9-51


The Second Grade Grand Final between Ainslie and Manuka resulted in a win to Ainslie by 28 points. Ainslie won their second Premiership in two years.

Final score: Ainslie 12.15-87 def Manuka 8.11-59


The Second Grade Grand Final team was:

D Lancaster, D Power, L Laffan, D Friend, J Fusinato, B Ryan, D Lalor, M Stevens, K Wark, N O’Neill, I McDonald, G Read, M Moullakis, G Rebecca, S Smith, N Gregory, R McCorry, J Outhwaite, J Parker, R Saunders.


Laurie Laffan played his 100th Second Grade game during the season.


Coach: R Gowing

Captain: Graham Read

Underage Teams


The Under 19 team finished fourth.  Coach: F Rees. Captain: M Cliff.

The Under 17 Team finished third.  Coach: M Walsh. Captain: B McCormack




The Monaro team were runners up. They were defeated by South Woden in the Second Semi Final.

Final score: Ainslie 3.13-31 def by South Woden 13.16-94


In the Preliminary Final Ainslie defeated RAAF by 14 points to move through to the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 13.14-92 def RAAF 11.12-78

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Stewart 3, Bachelor 2, MacDonald 2, Jamieson 1, O’Rourke 1, Fanning 1, Robinson 1, Dyke 1, Lalor 1

Best: Stewart, Jamieson, Nankivell, O’Rourke, Henry


In the Grand Final at Ainslie Oval Ainslie were defeated by a strong South Woden team.

Final score: Ainslie 9.6-60 def by South Woden 20.18-138

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Fanning 3, T Stewart 2, Dyke 1, Bachelor 1, MacDonald 1, Robinson 1

Best: Henry, Fanning, T Stewart, Jamieson


Captain/Coach: J Truesdale

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Ralph Rendell

Runner Up B&F: Kevin Matthews

Most Consistent: R Whiteway

Most Improved: Alan Smith


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: I McDonald

Runner Up B&F: John Fusinato

Most Consistent: M Stevens

Most Improved: R Denley



Best & Fairest: Tony Jamieson

Runner Up B&F: G Henry

Most Consistent: T Stewart

Most Improved: C Fanning


Under 19

Don Robertson Memorial Trophy: G Mumme

Best & Fairest: M Cliff

Runner Up B&F: P Smith

Third: S Holt

Fourth: G Mumme


Under 17

Best & Fairest: R Whyte

Runner Up B&F: V Muizneiks

Third: N O’Neill

Fourth: B McCormack

Club Officials


President: Alan Ray

Senior Vice President: W Smith

Vice Presidents: Lionel James, Tom Talsma, P Clynes

Secretary: R Venables

Ass. Secretary: B Ryan

Treasurer: Barry Browning

Committee: John Bravo, G Harwood, Bruce Glossop, Keith Heales, N McCann, R Gowing, Jack McGrath, J V McConville, J O’Dea, C Smith, P Searle, J Triffett


Patrons: Ralph Lewis, R W Chew


© 2015 by Ainslie Football