1972 Ainslie First Grade Team

There were 7 teams in the Canberra Australian National Football League in 1972, Acton, Ainslie, ANU, Belconnen, Eastlake, Manuka and Queanbeyan.


Ainslie won 13 and lost 5 games in the home and away matches to finish in third place.


In the First Semi-Final Ainslie defeated Belconnen by 70 points.

Final score: Ainslie 24.14-158 def Belconnen 13.10-88

Goal kickers for Ainslie: A Bongetti 13, O Layzell 3, M Smith 2, P Mayne 2, J Davies 2, White 1, Batchelor 1

Best: M Smith, A Bongetti, P Mayne, B Henricksen


In the Preliminary Final Ainslie defeated Manuka by 1 point to go through to the Grand Final against Eastlake.

Final score: Ainslie 17.11-113 def Manuka 16.16-112

Goal kickers for Ainslie: A Bongetti 9, L Laffan 3, O Layzell 1, B Johnston 1, P Mayne 1, R Rendell 1, P Johnson 1

Best: A Bongetti, P Johnson, R Rendell, B Ryan, B Henricksen, B Kershaw


Ainslie were well beaten by Eastlake in the Grand Final to finish in second place.

Final score: Ainslie 9.8-62 def by Eastlake 26.19-175

Goal kickers for Ainslie: A Bongetti 4, M Smith 2, O Layzell 2, J Davies 1

Best: N Gregory, C Smith, M Smith, P Mayne, B Henricksen


The Ainslie Grand Final Team was:

Backs: Kevin Hassett, Charles Smith, Laurie Laffan

Half backs: Bernie Ryan, Barry Henricksen, Geoff McCormick

Centres: Barry Kershaw, Ralph Rendell, Brian Read

Half forwards: Wayne Batchelor, Peter Johnson, Owen Layzell

Forwards: Bruce Johnston, Alan Bongetti, Martin Smith

Rucks: Nigel Gregory, John Davies, Patrick Mayne

19th: Anthony White, 20th: Mick Walsh, Emergency: Paul Shallow


The Ainslie players who represented the ACT in games against Queensland and Essendon were Brian Read, Alan Bongetti, Charles Smith, Peter Johnson and Ralph Rendell.


Alan Bongetti kicked 105 goals in the season.

Three players reached 100 games during the season, Kevin Hassett, Brian Read and Ralph Rendell.


Captain/Coach: John Davies

Ass.Coach: Peter Johnson

Manager: John Bravo

1972 Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

Second Grade


Ainslie Second Grade finished on top of the ladder after the home and away games with 20 wins and 1 loss.


In the Second Semi-Final Ainslie were defeated by Manuka.

Final score: Ainslie 9.13-67 def by Manuka 14.10-94


Ainslie defeated RMC in the Preliminary Final to go through to the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 18.15-123 def RMC 13.11-89


In the Grand Final Ainslie were able to defeat Manuka by 52 points to win the Premiership after being runners up the past two years.

Final score: Ainslie 16.17-113 def Manuka 9.7-61


Graham Read won the Second Grade J McNamara Trophy for the Best and fairest in the League.


Bob Dunkeld played his 100th Second Grade game during the season.


Coach: Peter Johnson

Manager: Tom Moore



Under 19


The Ainslie Under 19 team was defeated by Queanbeyan in the First Semi-Final to finish in fourth place.


Under 19 players who were selected in the NSW Combined High School side were Tom Talsma, Alan Smith, Manuel Moullakis and Robert Tutt.


Coach: J Williams

Manager: John McGrath, John Bravo




The Monaro team made the top four for the first time.


They were defeated in the First Semi-Final to finish in fourth place.


Ron Edwards won the Monaro Best & fairest Award.


Coach: Ron Edwards


Under 17


The Ainslie U17 team defeated Manuka in the Preliminary Final.

Final score: Ainslie 18.16-124 def Manuka 5.3-33


Defeated in the Grand Final by Belconnen to finish in second place

Final score: Ainslie 11.6-72 def by Belconnen 15.11-101.


Coach: Neil McCann

Manager: A Belltowers

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Brian Read

Runner Up B&F: Alan Bongetti

Most Consistent: Pat Mayne

Most Improved: Nigel Gregory


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Graham Read

Runner Up B&F: John Fusinato

Most Consistent: Kevin Furst

Most Improved: Dave Power


Under 19

Best & Fairest: Peter Shanley

Runner Up B&F: Geoff Henry

Third: Peter Talsma

Fourth: Michael Cliff

Don Robertson Memorial Trophy: Alan Smith



Best & Fairest: Tony Jamieson

Runner Up B&F: Ian MacDonald

Most Consistent: Ron Edwards

Most Improved: Gil Allen


Under 17

Best & Fairest: Manual Moullakis

Runner Up B&F: Barry Huntingford

Third: Paul Smith

Fourth: Jamie Belltowers

Manager’s Trophy: Jimmy O’Dea

Coach’s trophy: Jamie Belltowers

Club Officials


President: Alan Ray

Senior Vice President: Brian Palmer

Vice Presidents: F L Cornell, Lionel James, W Smith

Secretary: R Venables

Assistant Secretary: M Ryan, B Ryan

Treasurere: Barry Browning

Committee: John Bravo, G Harwood, Keith Heales, John McGrath, D McIntyre, P Murdoch, Norm Neeson, B Norbury, C Smith, J Spencer, B Read, Tom Talsma


Patrons: R H Lewis, R W Chew


© 2015 by Ainslie Football