1970 Ainslie First Grade Premiership Team

There were seven teams in the Canberra League in 1970, Acton, Ainslie, ANU, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan and Turner.


Ainslie finished the home and away season in second place behind the undefeated Eastlake.


Ainslie caused an upset in the Second Semi-Final defeating Eastlake at Manuka Oval.
Final score: Ainslie 12.12-84 def Eastlake 9.23-77
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Davies 4, G Read 3, Laffan 2, B Read 1, Johnson 1, Stubbs 1
Best: Johnson, McCormick, Davies, G Read, Rendell


In the 1970 Grand Final before a crowd of 5000 Ainslie scraped home against Manuka to record a 6 point win. Ainslie won its first Premiership since 1961.
Final Score
Ainslie    2.4    6.4    11.16    12.23-95
Manuka  4.1    6.6    10.6      13.11-89
Goals: Davies 4, Gibbons 3, B Read 2, Kershaw 1, Johnson 1, Gardiner 1
Best: Gardiner, Kershaw, Gibbons, B Read, Davies, Johnstone, Johnson


The Grand Final team was:

Backs: Kevin Hassett, Viv Morgan, John Stubbs

Half Backs: Geoff McCormick, Charles Smith, Bernie Ryan

Centres: Graeme Gardiner, Ralph Rendell, Barry Kershaw

Half Forwards: Graham Read, David Stanley, Brian Reid

Forwards: Laurie Laffan, John Davies, Mick Gibbons

Ruck: Peter Johnson, John Cusack, Bruce Johnstone

Tony White (19th), Peter Searle (20)


Ainslie rover Mick Gibbons finished second in the Mulrooney Medal count.


Barry Kershaw played his 150th game for Ainslie in the Second Semi-Final.


Senior Vice-President Alan Ray was awarded the Australian National Football Council Merit Award for Valuable services to Australian Football.


The Hooker Shield for the best performed club was awarded to Ainslie for the fourth time in five years.


First Grade Captain/Coach: John Davies

Assistant Coach: Peter Johnson

Second Grade


Ainslie Second Grade defeated Eastlake in the Preliminary Final to go through to the Grand Final.
Final score: Ainslie 21.15-141 def Eastlake 8.15-63


Ainslie were beaten by undefeated RMC in the Second Grade Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 8.3-51 def by RMC 13.9-87


Monaro Team


The Monaro team finished outside the top four. The Monaro Division Coach was Tom Moore.


Underage Teams


The Under 18s played in the Grand Final against Manuka but were defeated.

The team was coached by Norm Neeson and the Manager was Tom Sherd.


The Under 16 team reached the Preliminary Final but were defeated by Eastlake to finish in third place.

The team was coached by John Stubbs and the Manager was Bill Cousins.

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Peter Johnson

Runner-Up B&F: Brian Read

Most Consistent: Charlie Smith

Best 1st Year Player: Geoff McCormick



Best & Fairest: Owen Layzell, Terry Stewart

Most Consistent: Peter Tormey

Most Improved: Ken Wark



Best & Fairest: Graeme Bullas

Runner-Up B&F: Tony Jamieson

Most Consistent: Tony May

Most Improved: Peter Southwell


Under 18

Best & Fairest/Don Robertson Memorial Trophy: Darren Gilmore

Runner-Up B&F: Roger Bennett

Most Consistent: John Outhwaite

Committee Trophy: Stewart Smith

McConville Service Station Trophy: Ian McDonald


Under 16

Best & Fairest: Tom Talsma

Runner-Up B&F: John McConville

Most Consistent: Reho Ahlstedt

Most Improved: Tony Jarrett

1970 Officials


President: H.J. Gaylard

Senior Vice-President: J. Spencer, A.L. Ray

Vice Presidents: N. Neeson, B. Palmer, W. Smith

Hon. Secretary: F. Connell, S.J.L. Ray

Hon. Treasurer: B. Browning


First Grade Captain/Coach: John Davies

Assistant Coach: Peter Johnson

Monaro Division Coach: Tom Moore

Under 18 Coach:  Norm Neeson

Under 16 Coach: John Stubbs




© 2015 by Ainslie Football