1969 Ainslie First Grade Team

There were seven teams in the Canberra League in 1969, Acton, Ainslie, ANU, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan and Turner.


In the First Semi-Final Ainslie came from behind to defeat ANU.

Final score: Ainslie 11.15-81 def ANU 9.14-68

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Gibbons 3, R Smith 2, I Black 2, P Johnson 2, Robinson 1, White 1

Best: R Smith, P Johnson, Gibbons, Ryan, Searle, Stubbs, Laird


Ainslie were defeated in the Preliminary Final by Manuka.

Final score: Ainslie 7.10-52 def by Manuka 11.15-81

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Searle 3, R Smith 2, Gibbons 1, I Black 1

Best: Gibbons, R Smith, B Johnston, Laird, Johnson, Brian Read


The Ainslie Preliminary Final team was:

Backs: Laurie Cronin, John Stubbs, Charles Smith

Half backs: Doug Laird, Alan Bloomfield, Phillip Harris

Centres: Barry Kershaw, Ralph Rendell Brian Read

Half forwards: Bernie Ryan, Robert Smith, Ian Black

Forwards: Graeme Cox, Peter Searle, Bruce Johnston

Rucks: Peter Johnson, Ron Robinson, Michael Gibbons

19th: David Ryder 20th: Graham Read


Manuka defeated Eastlake in the Grand Final, 11.13-79 to 9.5-59, to win their third successive Premiership.


Ainslie won the Club Championship, the L J Hooker Shield.

1969 Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

Second Grade


Ainslie defeated Eastlake in the Second Semi-Final to go through to the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 13.3-81 def Eastlake 8.7-55


The Ainslie Second Grade won its third successive Premiership defeating RMC.

Final score: Ainslie 13.11-89 def RMC 6.7-43

Goal kickers for Ainslie: K Heales 3, Dalgrin 3, Hackett 2, Glossop 2, Dunkeld 2, Gowing 1

Best: Wark, Hackett, Harris, Edwards, White, Layzell


Bob Dunkeld won the League’s Best & Fairest Award for Second Grade, the President’s Trophy.



District Division


Ainslie defeated Eastlake in the Second Semi-Final.

Final score: Ainslie 13.7-85 def Eastlake 7.13-55


Third Grade won the Premiership for the second year in a row defeating Eastlake in the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 17.8-110 def Eastlake 8.11-59


Coach: Tom Moore


Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Peter Johnson

Runner Up B&F: Ralph Rendell

Most Consistent: John Stubbs

Most Improved: Robert Smith

Special Award: Michael Gibbons


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Owen Layzell

Runner Up B&F: Keith Heales

Most Consistent: Karl Price

Most Improved: Phillip Harris

Special Award: Bob Dunkeld


District Division

Best & Fairest: Bill Drake

Runner Up B&F: Jim Kershaw

Most Consistent: Kevin Moore

Most Improved: Tom Duffey


© 2015 by Ainslie Football