1968 Ainslie First Grade Team

There were six teams in the Canberra League in 1968, Acton, Ainslie, ANU, Eastlake, Manuka and Turner-Queanbeyan.


Ainslie First Grade finished the home and away games in third place with 10 wins and 5 losses behind Eastlake, the top team, and Manuka.


Ainslie played ANU in the First Semi-Final at Ainslie Oval. In a tense game Ainslie led at three quarter time by 11 points but ANU fought back and hit the front with 10 minutes to go. Ainslie regained the lead through a goal to Ralph Rendell but in the last hectic minutes ANU kicked a goal to win by 2 points.

Final score: Ainslie 14.11-95 def by ANU 13.19-97

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Mullin 4, R Rendell 3, Migus 2, Kershaw 2, Cox 1, Drake 1, Read 1

Best: B Ryan, C Smith, Mullin, Rendell, Black


Manuka won the Grand Final over Eastlake by 1 point, 9.16-70 to 10.9-69.


Coach Bill Drake resigned after coaching Ainslie for 3 years.



1968 Ainslie Second Grade Premiership Team

Second Grade


Ainslie Second Grade defeated Eastlake in the Second Semi-Final to move through to the Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 10.15-75 def Eastlake 7.7-49


Ainslie defeated Eastlake in the Grand Final to win the Second Grade Premiership.

Final score: Ainslie 5.20-50 def Eastlake 4.8-32



1968 Ainslie Third Grade Premiership Team

Third Grade


Ainslie Third Grade played in the District Division Competition.


Ainslie defeated Acton in the Second Semi-Final to advance to the District Division Grand Final.

Final score: Ainslie 3.1-19 def Acton 1.7-13


The Ainslie Third Team won the Grand Final by defeating Eastlake.

Final score: Ainslie 9.16-70 def Eastlake 6.14-50


Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Barry Kershaw

Runner Up B&F: Kevin Hassett

Most Consistent: A Black

Most Improved: Charles Smith


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: Owen Layzell

Runner Up B&F: K Price

Most Consistent: Keith Heales

Most Improved: P Harris


Third Grade

Best & Fairest: D Ryde

Runner Up B&F: K Tough

Most Consistent: K Slattery

Most Improved: K Moore


Colts Grade

Best & Fairest: A White

Runner Up B&F: T Stolz

Most Consistent: Doug Laird

Most Improved: D Lancaster

Club Officials


President: Harry Gaylard

Senior Vice President: J Rowe

Vice Presidents: F Cornell, N Neeson, B Palmer

Treasurer: Barry Browning

Secretary: Alan Ray

Ass. Secretary: J Spencer

Committee: J Bravo, P Clynes, K Hassett, K Heales, L James, B Kershaw, J McConville, P Murdoch, B Norberry, A Rendell, W Saunders, R Venables


Patrons: Ralph Lewis, R W Chew


© 2015 by Ainslie Football