1964 Ainslie First Grade Team

There were eight teams in the Canberra League in 1964, Acton, Ainslie, ANU, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan, RMC and Turner.


Ainslie defeated Acton in the First Grade First Semi-Final.

Final score: Ainslie 12.14-86 def Acton 10.6-66

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Walsh 4, McPhail 3, Heales 2, Hackett 1, Edwards 1, Davies 1

Best: Neeson, Irvine, Walsh, Gowing, W Blomfield, Heales, McPhail, W Ross


Ainslie were defeated by Manuka in the Preliminary Final by 20 points at Ainslie Oval.

Final score: Ainslie 9.10-64 def by Manuka 11.18-84

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Edwards 3, Irvine 3, McPhail 1, Field 1, Hawke 1, Gowing 1, Bloomfield 1

Best: Irvine, Neeson, McPhail, Hawke, Gowing, Carnegie


Eastlake defeated Manuka in the Grand Final, 14.11-95 to 10.9-69.


Edwards with 54 goals was the leading Ainslie goal kicker in First Grade.


Coach: Norm Neeson

Managers: Don Robertson, Richard Alder

Second Grade


Ainslie Second Grade defeated Turner in the First Semi-Final.

Final score: Ainslie 7.13-55 def Turner 4.8-32

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Elliot 2, Dawes 2, Muir 1, Ross 1, Hawke 1

Best: K Moore, Hawke, McCulloch, Little, Wynack


In the Preliminary Final Ainslie were defeated by Manuka to finish in third place.

Final score: Ainslie 6.10-46 def by Manuka 14.10-94

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Webb 2, Dawes 2, Ross 1, McCulloch 1

Best: Truesdale, Elliot, Piper, Slattery, Laffan, Calear


Captain/Coach: John Spencer

Manager: Merv Denley





The Under 19s finished outside the top four.


Intermediate Grade


The Ainslie Under 17 Intermediate team defeated Eastlake in the Second Semi-Final.

Final score: Ainslie 12.10-82 def Eastlake 4.5-29

Best: Read, Organ, O’Rourke, White, Carnell, C Smith


They played Eastlake again in the Grand Final and won by 8 points to win the Premiership.

Final score: Ainslie 13.6-84 def Eastlake 11.10-76

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Read 3, Grubb 3, Smith 3, Organ 3, Tormey 1

Best: Hall, Read, Smith, Carnell, White, Rendell


Coach: Tom Evans

Manager: Merv Denley

Captain: Ralph Rendell,  Vice Capt.: Brian Read




The Juniors had an outstanding year winning 2 Championships and three Premierships from the six teams that contested the Grand Finals. Championships were won by the Junior Grade and the Sub Atoms Grade. Premierships were won by Sub Juniors in both Divisions and the Midgets.


Coach: Lionel James

Manager: Merv Denley

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: A Irvine

Runner Up B&F: R Moore

Most Consistent: Brian Palmer

Most Improved: W Blomfield

Best Clubman: R Bloomfield


Second Grade

Best & Fairest: A Calear

Runner Up B&F: R Little

Most Consistent: L Piper

Most Improved: K Moore



Best & Fairest: T Axelby

Runner Up B&F: G Gardiner

Most Consistent: O Layzell

Most Improved: R Denley




Best & Fairest: C Smith

Runner Up B&F: Ralph Rendell

Most Consistent: Brian Read

Most Improved: Vince Evans

Club Officials


President: Harry Gaylard

Senior Vice President: Stan Ray

Vice Presidents: A Bryan, C Burmester, J Cleary, M Denley, T Evans, C Gregory, J Horgan, M F Kildea, H E Kruger, N Lynraven, H McCulloch, B Martin, J Rennes, J Rowe, H Savage, M Taafo, B Whatman, J Watt, C Williams

Treasurer: R Glynn, K Heales

Secretary: Alan Ray

Committee: R Alder, P Arundle, E Clifford, F Cornell, T Graham, L James, N Neeson, J Rowe, H Savage


Patrons: Ralph Lewis, R W Chew


© 2015 by Ainslie Football