1954 Ainslie First Grade Team

There were six teams in the 1954 Canberra League, Ainslie, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan-Acton, RMC and Turner.


Ainslie finished the home and away games in fourth place.


Ainslie played Manuka in the First Semi-Final. Ainslie were 5 points up at half time but Manuka got on top in the second half to win by 25 points.

Final score: Ainslie 8.9-57 def by Manuka 12.10-82

Goal kickers for Ainslie: R Bloomfield 4, J Backen 1, B Whatman 1, J Loftus 1, W Hansen 1, C Ratford 1

Best: B Whatman, J Backen, D Robertson, W Keough, R Bloomfield


The Ainslie team that played in the Semi-Final was:

D Robertson, J Cleary, J Keough, W Keough, A Ray, O Porter, L James, D Ross, B Browning, P Platt, J Backen, W Hansen, C Ratford, J Loftus, R Bloomfield, B Whatman, F Matthews, A Hawke   Reserves: J Keegan, G Sheehan, Southwell, W Gale


Leading goal kicker for season 1954 was P Platt with 20 goals.


The Combine team Queanbeyan-Acton defeated Eastlake in the Grand Final to win the 1954 Premiership, 23.15-153 to 6.8-44.


Captain/Coach: Bruce Whatman, Vice-Captain: Don Ross
Manager: Stan Ray

Second Grade


Ainslie Second Grade finished outside the final four.


Coach:  F Marryat, Tom Moore

Manager:  Lionel James




Ainslie Junior team finished in third place after losing the Preliminary Final to Manuka.

Final score: Ainslie 4.3-27 def by Manuka 5.4-34.

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Webb 2, McKellar 2

Best: Bird, Hincksman, Webb, Blomfield, Linery

Leading goal kicker for the Juniors in season 1954 was John Blomfield with 48 goals.


Manager: Clive Lowes

Sub Juniors


The Ainslie Sub-Juniors played off in the Grand Final and defeated Queanbeyan-Acton by 2 points to win the Premiership.

Final score: Ainslie 8.9-57 def Queanbeyan-Acton 8.7-55

Goal kickers for Ainslie: Tully 2, Foster 2, Ryan 1, Reid 1, Wallace 1, Webb 1

Best: Tully, Reid, Bennett, Wallace, Webb, Ross




The Atoms team played in the Grand Final against Eastlake but were defeated.

Final score: Ainslie 0.1-1 def by Eastlake 2.1-13

Best: Nurse, Garner, Elvin, Morton Kelsey

Club Awards


First Grade

Best & Fairest: Bruce Whatman

Most Consistent: Barry Browning

Most Improved: W Keogh

Best Club Man: Tom Moore


Second Grade

Best & Fairest:  N Paterson

Most Consistent: G Hamilton

Best Club Man: F Marryat



Best & Fairest: A Bird

Most Consistent: R Hincksman

Most Improved: C Sloan



Best & Fairest: David Reid

Most Consistent: Michael Webb

Most Improved: William Gillard

Most Reliable: Bruce Donaldson



Best & Fairest: John Davies

Most Consistent: Victor Elvin

Most Improved: Allan Webster



Best & Fairest: R Garner

Most Consistent: T Elvin

Most Improved: P Nurse

Team Work: P Kelsey

Club Officials


President: Bruce Whatman

Senior Vice-President: Stan Ray

Secretary: Jock Whatman

Ass. Secretaries: J W Cleary, Jim Keegan, H D Kruger

Treasurer:  F Marryat

Ass. Treasurer: B Birch, V Lake

Committee: Bob Bloomfield, A Browning, C Burmester, H Goodall, Lionel James, C Lowes, J Barry McCabe, Tom Moore, P Platt, Don Ross


Patron: J C Moore


© 2015 by Ainslie Football