1950 Ainslie First Grade Team

There were 7 teams in the 1950 First Grade Competition, Acton, Ainslie, Eastlake, Manuka, Queanbeyan, RMC and Turner.


Ainslie finished the home and away season in fourth position with 10 wins and 9 losses.

Ainslie lost to RMC in the First Semi-Final after leading by 26 points at half time. Ainslie failed to score a goal after half time while RMC kicked 9.
Final score: Ainslie 6.13-49 def by RMC 11.6-72
Best for Ainslie: Whatman, Bloomfield, Birch, Ross, Backen

The Ainslie team for the Semi-Final was:
Backs: R Bloomfield, T Moore, J Cleary
Half Backs: A Curtis, R Woolcott, B Birch
Centres: T Evans, B Cain, F Carey
Half Forwards: W Pillage, B Whatman, P Horgan
Forwards: N Cleary, J Connelly, E O’Sullivan
Ruck: J Backen, R Boorn, D Ross
Reserves: M Griffith, P Platt, J Meeking


Manuka won its 5th Premiership by defeating Eastlake in the Grand Final, 9.13-67 to 6.6-42.


Bryan Birch, Bob Boorn and Bruce Whatman were selected in the Representative Team that played in the Carnival in Brisbane.


Ainslie player Brendon Cain won the Mulrooney Medal in a three way tie with P Eagles (Manuka) and K Schow (Queanbeyan).


Captain/Coach was Bob Bloomfield.

Second Grade

Ainslie Second Grade played Queanbeyan in the First Semi-Final. Ainslie were beaten by 4 points.
Final score: Ainslie 8.13-61 def by Queanbeyan 9.11-65.

Ainslie player Richard Dunn won the Second Grade League Best and Fairest, with Ainslie player P Jefferies 1 vote back as equal Runner-up.


Intermediate Grade


The Ainslie Intermediate team defeated Queanbeyan in the Second Semi-Final, 10.8-68 to 10.4-64 to go through to the Grand Final. They played Queanbeyan but lost by 9 points.
Final score:  Ainslie 7.7-49 def by Queanbeyan 8.10-58
Goal Kickers: McCullough 2, Foster 1, Loftus 1, Pillage 1, Keogh 1, Jones 1.
Best for Ainslie: Ray, Hawke, James, Betts, Loftus.

Allan Hawke was runner up in the Intermediate Grade League Best & Fairest Award.



Junior Team were beaten in the Grand Final by Eastlake.
Final score: Ainslie 2.0-12 def by Eastlake 8.12-60
Goal kickers for Ainslie:  Loftus 1, O’Brien 1
Best:  Douglas, Boyd, O’Keefe, Loftus, Hamilton, O’Brien

John Loftus won the League Junior Grade Best & Fairest Award.


Sub Juniors

Sub Juniors reached the Grand Final but were defeated by Eastlake.
Final score:  Ainslie 3.2-20 def by Eastlake 19.19-133
Goal kickers for Ainslie:  Lovering 1, R Hincksman 1, B Hincksman 1
Best:  Hincksman, Phillips, Harrington, McCullough

Midgets lost the First Semi-Final to Acton

Club Awards


First Grade
Best & Fairest: Brendon Cain
Most Consistent: N Cleary
Most Promising: D Ross
Best Clubman:  J Cleary
Most Improved: M Griffiths


Second Grade
Best & Fairest: F Marriott
Most Consistent:  F Balshaw
Most Improved: J Keogh

Intermediate Awards
Best & Fairest: Alan Ray
Most Consistent: Lionel James
Most Improved: Allan Hawke
Most Promising: Barry Brow

Club Officials

President: Ralph Lewis
Senior Vice Presidents: Stan Ray, Harry Gaylard
Secretary: H D Kruger
Ass Secretary: John Cleary
Treasurer: F Martin
Patron: J C Moore


© 2015 by Ainslie Football