No 1939 Team Photo available

There were 6 teams in the First Grade competition in 1939, Acton, Ainslie, Eastlake, Manuka, Mines Rovers and Queanbeyan.


Ainslie finished the season in fourth place with 7 wins and 8 losses.


Ainslie played Acton in the First Semi-Final at Manuka Oval on August 26 1939.

Ainslie were defeated by 2 points to finish the season in 4th place.

Final score: Ainslie 14.13-97 def by Acton 15.9-99
Goal kickers for Ainslie: Rennis 4, Roe 3, James 3, Backhouse 2, McConaghy 1, Evans 1.
Best: Evans, James, Bloomfield, Atkinson, McConaghy, Roe, Rennis, Backhouse

The team for the Semi-Final was:
Backs: Kelly, Bloomfield, Fox
Half Backs: B Martin, C Moore, Gahn
Centres: Evans, Atkinson, Kennedy
Half Forwards: Crawley, Roe, Cook
Forwards: Backhouse, Rennis, McConaghy
Followers: James (Capt.), D Moore  Rover: Collins
19th: Woods  Emergency: Pierce


Queanbeyan won the Grand Final defeating Manuka 18.22-130 to 9.19-73


The Ainslie First Grade Coach was Ted Gyngell.


Lionel James was the leading goalkicker for Ainslie with 31 goals including 15 against Mines Rovers in the last round. Rennis was second with 29 goals. James was also third in the voting for the Mulrooney Medal.


The Ainslie Intermediate Grade played in the Second Semi Final against Eastlake but lost by 25 points.
In the Preliminary Final but lost to Manuka.

The Team was selected from:
C Moore (Capt.), Law, Kruger, Jones, Edwards, Torrence, Vant, Mulligan, Cleary, Robertson, Taylor, Mason, Black, White, Fettes, Lee, Kennard, Alexander, McDonald, Stevens.


Curtis Moore, Captain of the Ainslie Intermediate Team won the League’s Best & Fairest medal in the Intermediate Grade.


Club Officials 1939


President: Ralph Lewis
Senior Vice President: T Gillard
Vice Presidents: J H Mulrooney, C Gregory, M Martin, J Horgan, G O’Neill, J C Moore, J E Cleary, W J Maclennan, H Johnson
Committee: J Keogh, A Bryan, M Schenck, L Evans, L Kruger, R E L Phillips, F Gay, D Roche
League Delegates: W Schenck, W Pierce, R E L Phillips
Treasurer: M.F. Kildea
Hon Secretary: C Williams
Ass Secretary: A Sutton



Club Awards


Best & Fairest - Hibberson Cup: Don Moore and Lionel James (Tie)

Johnson Cup for the Most Consistent Player: S. Atkinson

Returned Soldiers' Club Cup for the Best Clubman: Tom Evans

MacLennan Cup for the Most Improved Intermediate Player promoted to Seniors:  Ron Crawley


© 2015 by Ainslie Football