No 1937 Team Photo available

The Canberra League consisted of four teams in 1937, Ainslie, Eastlake, Manuka and Queanbeyan.

Ainslie First Grade finished in third position with 6 wins. Ainslie played Queanbeyan in the First Semi-Final. Ainslie won the game at Manuka Oval by 27 points.
Final score: Ainslie 10.15-75 def Queanbeyan 7.6-48
Goal kickers for Ainslie: James 4, Schenk 1, Donohue 1, Bald 1, Worthy 1, D Moore 1, Gribble 1
Best: Evans, D Moore, James, Dee, Bald, Gribble, C Moore, Donohue


The 1937 Ainslie team played off in the Preliminary Final against Manuka. After leading at all the breaks Ainslie were over-run by Manuka to go down by 5 points.

Final score: Ainslie 10.8-68 def by Manuka 10.13-73
Best for Ainslie: Atkinson, Bald, James, Connelly, C Moore, Martin and Evans
Goal-kickers: James 4, Connelly 3, Gribble 2, Bald 1


The Ainslie team for the Preliminary Final was:
Backs: Bryan, Spendelove, Lyng
Half Backs: Williams, C Moore, Martin
Centres: Evans, Atkinson Peirce
Half Forwards: Worthy, D Moore, Gribble
Forwards: Schenk, Connelly, Donohue
Ruck: James (Capt.), Bald, Dee (V.Capt)
19th: Loftus   Emergency: Brown


Coach: J. Keogh

Captain: Lionel James

V.C.: Sam Dee


Club Award Winners:


Best & Fairest (Hibberson Cup): Warwick Pierce

Most Consistent: J. Bald

Most Unselfish: S. Atkinson

Best Utility Player: Tom Evans

The President's Trophy: Lionel James



Club Officials

President: John Horgan
Vice Presidents: C Gregory, J C Moore, A H Walker, B Roberts, J Mulrooney, L Rowlands,, J Cassidy
Committee: H Logan, A Bryan, M J Kildea, J Keogh, S Rhodes, W Robinson, L C Thompson
Hon Secretary: A H Boorn
Ass Secretary: J V Kight
Hon Treasurer: G O’Neill
Time Keeper: G Millard
League Delegates: S Rhodes, L James, J Keogh


Ainslie Juniors


The Juniors won the Grand Final against Eastlake and due to being undefeated during the season won the Championship.


Final score: Ainslie 6.3-39 def Eastlake 4.5-29

Best for Ainslie were Moore, Scott, Jones, Stevens, Eason, Cleary, McDonald and Torrance.












Manager of the Juniors: Tom Laird

Lionel James coached the Junior Team.


Curtis Moore won the Junior League Prime Minister’s Medal for the Beat & Fairest.
Ken Scott was Runner-Up in the Junior League Best & Fairest and was awarded the Green Trophy.

Alan Stevens won the R. Maloney trophy as best in the Junior Grand Final.


Junior Club Awards


Peterson Cup: Most Consistent Player – R Kennard
Horgan Trophy: Most Unselfish Player – J Eason
A Bryan Trophies for Most Improved Players – H Edwards and C Vant
Manager’s Trophies – J Jones and J Torrance
Best Club Man – D Solly
Longest Service – R Mulligan


© 2015 by Ainslie Football