The First Grade Competition in 1931 had 5 teams, Acton, Ainslie, Eastlake, Manuka and Queanbeyan. The Depression had hit Canberra and many of the footballers were unemployed and relied on their Clubs giving them goods each week.


The Team started slowly winning only 1 of their first seven games but a string of wins gave them a chance to play finals. However two losses in the last two rounds meant they finished outside the top four.


The Ainslie First Grade team for the final round of home and away games was:
Williams, Lalor, Maloney, Bryan, Peacock, Rouse, Anderson, Goldsmith, Kelly, Byrne brothers, Horgan, McDonald, Carlyle, Lyng, Sutton, Harrington, Joyce, Smith, Marr, Alexander.


Ainslie players who were selected in the Canberra League Representative team to play Queensland in Brisbane in August were: L Alexander, C Peacock, F Smith and P Marr.


Ainslie player L Alexander was awarded the Canberra League Hicks Medal for the Best & Fairest in the Competition with 18 points 6 points ahead of the second place.


Manuka won their first Premiership by defeating Acton in the Grand Final, 10.6-66 to 6.11-47.


Club Officials

President: Thomas James
Hon Vice President: J Irvine
Vice Presidents: J L Mulrooney, T Gillard, F C Green
Committee: E Eason, W Miles, A Sutton, C Williams, A Bryan
Treasurer: J Dwyer
Secretary: D Dunlop
Ass Secretary: N Anderson
League Delegates: N Anderson, J Dwyer, E P Bradley
Time Keeper: G Millard

Tom Gillard and Alf Sutton were awarded the first Life Memberships of the Club.


Club Awards

Most Improved Player:  H W MacDonald
Best All Round Player:  L Alexander


© 2015 by Ainslie Football