Ainslie defeated Acton in the Second Semi-Final to move through to the Preliminary Final against Queanbeyan.

Final score: Ainslie 13.23-101 def Acton 6.10-46

Best: Griffiths, Manning, Watt, Bishop, Peacock, Welch, Maloney, Beggs, Dalton
Goals: Bastow 5, Maloney 3, Peacock 2, Watt 1, Beggs 1, Welch 1


Ainslie played Queanbeyan in the Preliminary Final at Manuka and won by 28 points.

Final score: Ainslie 9.13-67 def Queanbeyan 4.15-39


In the Grand Final Ainslie were defeated by Eastlake by 40 points.

Final score: Ainslie 4.6-30 def by Eastlake 9.16-70

Best for Ainslie: Griffiths, Manning, Bishop, Maloney, Peacock, Beilby, Welch

Goals: Bastow 1, Welch 1, Manning 1, Griffiths 1


Grand Final Team: George Welch (Capt.), R. Moloney (V.Capt.), J Griffiths, G Hanley, Callaghan, Walsh, Bastow, Kilpatrick, Peacock, F Bishop, C Greig, Beggs, Beilby, Alf Sutton, J Burr, K Carnall, G Manning, Baker, 19th C Dalton emerg. W Pearce


Ainslie Awards

Most Improved Player: C. Dalton
Most Attentive Player at Training: W. Pearce

Club Office Bearers


President: F.C Green

Hon Vice-President: J Irvine

Vice-Presidents: Mulrooney, Davis, Millard

Treasurer: T Gillard

Delegates to the League: K. Carnall and E.V. Eason

Secretary: D. Dunlop

Committee: Rippon, Thompson, Bradley, Cottingham, Gregory


Coach: L Welch

Player Statistics from Canberra Times 26 September 1928


© 2015 by Ainslie Football